Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Adamantium Cyborg

by TD5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML 5 game build using the Phaser JavaScript game framework.

Only tested in OS X Mavericks with Safari 7, but it should work in any modern browser. If you are having problems, try Chrome or Safari.

Requires a keyboard and mouse to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#155Audio3.46
#451Mood3.11
#524Fun3.08
#740Humor2.08
#757Graphics2.79
#788Overall2.97
#1026Theme2.41
#1129Innovation2.15

Comments

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29am

for me it only shoots when I hold space, not click?

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00am

Space should also work. Not sure why clicking isn't though. What web browser and operating system are you using?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Good job! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

Really liked the music.
It was most enjoyable and hectic when there were lots of enemies to shoot =)

jakecoxon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

Really fun to kill all the little blobs but the boss is hard as hell! The graphics have nice occasional subtleties which is good, and the sounds/music are really nice. Good game!

that-matt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Neat game, loved the "pew pew" effects when firing the gun! Nice touch adding wall panels, made it seem slightly more realistic ;)

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I am happy I can spam my pew-pew

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Very fun! Nice graphics, music, and challenging gameplay.

A few points: there's not much space in front of you, so hard to see when the enemies are coming. Also the one hit death makes it super hard! Would be good to have a health bar and health pick-ups.

Anyway, nice work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Quite good, feels very complete. Arrows would have been nice, it took a lot of wandering around before I figured out I had to hug the side and slide down the up elevator. Boss fight felt cheap, a checkpoint would have been nice. Gave up after three boss deaths.

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

A nice little side scroller shooter! I found the movement to be a little cumbersome for my tastes, and the enemies just seemed to disappear halfway through the level. I made it to the boss, but was unable to defeat it because each time I died I had to redo the whole level! Awesome art and audio design, though the sound effects were a little harsh after a while!

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice little game. Very good ambience. A projectile of the boss killed me though, before I could realize that I had to fight something ;)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Great graphics and sound. Spam laser FTW :)

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07am

Good game. Nice and simple

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Very nice game! Got to the boss, but didn't beat it.

A three, or even two-bar health system would make it a little less frustrating. ;)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11pm

I think I broke his hand :) Sound is sick mate

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11am

Fantastic 5 star audio! Especially the intro screen track! The criticism I have of this game would be to tighten up the controls a little bit, but it was very enjoyable anyway. Thank you for making the laser shoot more than 2 balls a second, just that little touch made the game a lot of fun :)

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

Cool game! Nice work :) Liked the audio

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Very well done! Lovee the music in the beginning with the oldschool modem sounds in the background. ;) It was fun to play and well balanced. Maybe I would improve the speed of the main character a bit.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Very good controls and and level design. Needs some polish, I would recommend watching "Juice it or Lose it" for example.
Good work!

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Thank you all for your feedback. I have taken it onboard and will incorporate into my next game.

@dustyroom I love the talk you suggested! There's some really good stuff there that I want to use to make my games look awesome :D

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

GREAT BALLS OF FIRE! WHAT A GREAT GAME!!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

Really nice music. Got a bit lost at one point. Impressive to see what HTML5 can do now, must investigate further. Good graphics and control feels nice and floaty. :)

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:04am

Nice game. Like the music and sfx.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:59am

Cool entry, great audio set the mood well. Never made it past the boosted jump though, tried to clear it before jumping too. But good job in 48hours! :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:48am

The intro was really good. But not having hitpoints or checkpoints made me give up on the boss.

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Music is cool. Pew-pew sounds for the win. Bit hard for me - very challenging.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:31am

Loved it. Good job on the graphics and music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]