Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

MS. PORTAL MAN

by nickculbertson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoot the rude dudes & warp through portals to avoid the deadly blades.

CONTROLS
MOVE : WASD || ARROW KEYS
SHOOT : MOUSE CLICK || LEFT SHIFT
JUMP : SPACEBAR

What I used:
Unity3D - The Game Engine
Unity's Sample Assets (Beta) & Particle Effects - Character Controller & Blood
ThumbJam (iOS App) - The Soundtrack
Garageband - The SFX
Photoshop - The Graphics
Coffee - Fight Sleep Deprivation
Beer - Because I actually finished a game in 48 hrs!

(Special Thanks to Dallas Society of Play & Improving Enterprises for hosting a place to Jam. Also BIG Thanks to my wife for being awesome and letting me nerd out for the weekend.)

Enjoy!
Nick Culbertson
@MadCalfApps

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#357Graphics3.43
#504Fun3.10
#505Humor2.40
#631Audio2.58
#667Mood2.86
#751Overall3.00
#790Innovation2.84
#934Theme2.63

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13am

Congrats on completing!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Really nice game. I like the portals and the obstacles. Great job.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Great entry!
I would have liked the "W" key to allow the character to jump.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Very well done. The game seems very polished for being done in 48 hours. The challenge of the obstacles forcing you to use the portals was a good idea. The music was a little annoying after a while though.

reaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Pretty cool! Wishing for a bigger level and it was hard to move up and down without being able to see the enemies. Maybe add some more hit points would have helped. The moving saws were a nice touch.

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Lovely graphics, and cool design. It's good to be able to rely on the order of where the blades come from. Makes it easier to plan (and to facepalm, if you forget the connections again)
The bottom-left portal is a bit tricky, because you fall down from the same area as the enemies... I suicided that way more than once.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Wow! Great feedback everyone. Thanks!

riktothepast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

It's a fun game, maybe the music is too annorying.

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Nice game!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Pretty funny. At first I did not notice portals, and then I just accidentally stepped into it and 'WAAAH!' :D

jawm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

audio too loud, also not much to do with theme. still a fun game, good idea forcing the player to use portals to avoid the obstacles!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Nice game, but its hard to see what's happening above you. Also rapidly pressing left shift brings up a windows message for sticky keys, perhaps a left control is a better option.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

The music is... rather morbid. I was expecting something more humorous. Nicely polished entry.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

That game was fun and I really loved the art. Great job with the portals too.
I liked the concept.

I didn't feel the music matched the "whimsical" feel of the game but it was an OK loop nonetheless. :)

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Good job, those saw blades caught me by surprise :)

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Did not care for the mouse button to shoot.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Cool game! However the opponents were no real challenge

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Fun little score-attack, reminds me of Super Crate Box. It would be fun to shoot bullets through the portals. I like the background track.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Those dudes were indeed RUDE. Fun game, could imagine it getting hectic with loads more rude dudes in there! Might benefit from something telling you which direction the blade is coming from so you can plan ahead a little?

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

It's a cool game, very friendly, easy to understand and scalable. Good job.

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Neat! Thought it was going to be easy until the moving pillar things started coming, but then it was pretty challenging.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This game was fun, but I wish it had been a little more difficult. After I memorized the sequence of the moving wall, it got pretty easy. It reminds me of a game I've played before, or maybe I'm imagining things again..

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Very Nice game, I liked the portal idea, the only "problem" i found was the player moving slower, and jumping moving really fast. But in general is a good game. ^^

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01pm

great gameplay! the music put me off a little though. other than that: Great work! you've earned that beer!

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nicely done platformer. Really a lot of fun.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Really cool visuals, I feel like I really got the hang of those portals. Great job!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Could've done with a bit of polish on the effects? The blood splat's a bit too weak, and wasn't immediately obvious what the portals were. Like the trick of getting past the big spikey thing using the portals though!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice little game, just one thing is that is very difficult to escape from the guys when you are on top of the screen, maybe you could add something to let player know that has na enemy coming.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Hi there. Like the animations and gameplay. Found it a bit hard once the blades arrived, survived first three of those both times I played. Good professional production.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

good idea for an arcade.

when i appear up, most of the time I get killed, probably the spawning zone for the monster should be placed somewhere else... i think.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

Great shooting mechanics, and awesome music!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nicely done. I was expecting some sort of goal other than staying alive, but it turned out that was difficult enough. :P Interesting and innovate gameplay, I like it.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Fun game! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]