Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pushback Cities

by tulevik.EU - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pushback Cities

Web port is missing some features that are in the Windows version.

A local 2 player game. Build, block your opponent from building and try not to be blocked yourself. Buildings are separated into two categories - residential and workplaces.

When you build your first residential building, 100 people will move in. From there on 10% of your current population moves in daily until your houses are full. Each different residential building type houses a different number of people (1000 - 8000).

Once you build your first workplace building and have at least one residential building, then 100 of them will start working. From then on 10% of your current population is added to the workforce daily until population or workplace limit is reached. Different workplace buildings support different number of workers (4000 - 7000).

You get $0.2 (20 cents) tax per each worker daily.

Winning condition will be checked when the time runs out or ESCAPE is pressed.

Didn't manage to include keyboard configuration, AI, music, settings saving and some additional features in time.

Player 1:
W and S to select tile
A and D to select building
E to place building
Q to destroy building

Player 2:
UP and DOWN to select tile
LEFT and RIGHT to select building
ENTER to place building
RIGHT SHIFT to destroy building

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/
Ludum Dare 30 competition entry for the theme "Connected Worlds".
The whole game and related all assets were done in 48 hours by Riho Peterson using GameMaker Studio, Paint.NET, PyxelEdit and Bfxr.

(C) 2014 tulevik.EU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#50Innovation4.03
#316Humor2.76
#316Theme3.57
#409Graphics3.32
#418Overall3.34
#420Mood3.15
#585Fun3.00
#734Audio2.36

Comments

Contraspect says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23am

Very nice game! It took me a while to really get it, but I had some fun wit it. Making up new stretegies is fun.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

Sim City meets Upside Down.
This was really fun even playing against myself.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

I should mention. The installer might turn some people away, is it possible to make it standalone?

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Thanks for playing and thanks for the comments so far!
I'll look into making a web port of this and also a version that doesn't use an installer. This was my first ever GameMaker Studio project, so I don't know all that's possible yet :)

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

ambiant missing, but it's fun with friends !!!!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Looking very interesting as concept. Like theme using =)

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Didn't have anyone to play with, but I can see how it's supposed to go. Nice concept!

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Interesting concept and fits well to the theme. Nice graphics too.
I have to find someone to play against :D

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

I'll confess I didn't have a second player to test this with. However I wanted to rate it, because I think it is a cool game :)
I really like how you've mashed up a puzzle game and a sim-style game in this. It also works very well with the theme.

Graphics look very nice. All I was missing was some music to create some urgency in the setting.

Very nice!

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

awesome game!, it took me some time to get it how it works but it's a good idea. great work!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

The idea is really good. A good feature would have been to be able to reverse buildings ;)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

nice, very inovative

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I had no one to really play it with, but I played with myself, and got the hang of it in no time flat! Well done for a 48 hour entry!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:09pm

I don't know what's happening, but I like it.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Great local multiplayer game!! Would be awesome to be able to play online against other players... Great job!!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:39am

nice

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Interesting Two player game! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]