Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Join Us!

by INC$D021 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If playing the Unity Web version, Please read "Web Player with Chrome - No input on startup" at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=384943
This important for all Unity Web Player games.!!

Theme: Connected Worlds
I tried to turn it on it's head and make a game where you'r (and the rest of your universe) are trying not to get connected to another (evil!) universe.
Inspired by the void ship from Dr. Who, and the void between branes in higher dimensions. I chose to do an 2D version of inter-universe-in-the-void-(non)space shooter. :)
And to also have the connection I made the world wrap around, but only for small objects, bullets. Your shop is to big, and will be crushed.

Plot:
You don't want to join the red universe, as your physicists have concluded that a wormhole from that universe is incompatible with our laws of physics and their laws will replace ours, and make our universe UNINHABITABLE! Your mission is to prevent their wormhole generators from opening a wormhole, in short, save the universe!
Watch out for highly warped space, it'll drag you in, AND allow your bullets to circle round space, and hit you in the back.!

And yes, the controls are meant to be hard ;) You're in space, no real breaks :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RzPBfii5yE

Enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#633Fun2.96
#653Audio2.54
#663Graphics2.94
#666Overall3.10
#728Humor2.10
#730Mood2.79
#798Theme2.88
#844Innovation2.78

Comments

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Fun game. Good job. There is never enough pews :D

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Thanks :)

Roknsk says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This is so retro, cool game.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Remember that when voting starts ;)
I miss the good old C64 days... hmmm...

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49am

Interesting use of how the bullets bounce back and forth. I found it to destroy some of the objectives and also add a little more value in each shot. Controls felt slippery

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26am

Great fun, good graphics and sounds and a neat idea.
Controls were a bit difficult.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good game ,took me some time to get use to it but nice .

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12am

nice little game. controls are too hard in my opinion, too floaty. i liked the wormhole effect on the screen.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

can't play your game on the web :(

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

I did spent a lot of time trying to gen the controls as I wanted them, but this was the best I could do.
If I removed the sliding, the game is way to easy ;)
Thanks for trying it out :D

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36am

@pjimmy Can't find a way to contact you, but I would really like to know what browser you are using, and what happens when you try to play the game.
Thanks

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:07am

@INC$D021 my bad, I've just discovered that you're using unity web player. Gonna report when I'm in Windows.

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I like the game style. Getting shot by myself was unexpected but an interesting feature.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Very pretty retro graphics, interesting theme/execution. Think controls took away from the game play though.

Keep on making those awesome retro shot-em-ups!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:21pm

One of my favourites so far. Liked the way you made every shot count with the bullets circling around. Really fun to play.

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Good game. Very intense, because if you don't kill the wormhole fast enough you die, but if you shoot too much you will need to dodge your own bullet.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Thanks for the nice feedback :)
"Getting shot by myself was unexpected but an interesting feature"
It sounds like I need to work on an old game idea, shooting yourself sounds popular :D
Glad you like it, even if the controls are hard.. With a bit of training it isn't that bad ;)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

Hi there. Liked the defender-a-like aspects. Not so keen on shooting myself in the back, pays to be accurate I guess.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

@mrexcessive: I had to stop players from just hammering away on the firing button :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22am

Game was bugging out after the first death where I kept being pulled to the right. Was a fun game. Really liked the animations.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28am

The physics are too floaty for the amount of precision you need to destroy the targets, but otherwise it's a pretty neat game :)

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:09am

@~SquigglySoup~: Not "bugging out" :) I expect that you were at one of the edges? I did write in the description "Watch out for highly warped space, it'll drag you in" ;)
@ninjascript: The floatyness wasn't planed, but without it the game is way to easy. You'll get the hang of it fast, if you keep trying :) I have nooo problem with it.. now. ;)
Thanks for playing and the feedback.. :D

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41am

Arrgh, the borders are such a filthy trick!! Didn't expect to be caught in a vortex there. Fun game, nice gameplay. And nice take of the theme, it made me watch out for my shots and don't waste ammo. Good teach!

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:17am

Dude those particle effects are boss! Really nice entry! nice presentation and good sound effects. Its an enjoyable game :)

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Nice game! The bullets that wrap around is a brilliant idea. It really makes this game stand out.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Thanks @snowconesolid and @miwuc for the very nice comments :)
Means a lot :D

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

xD killed myself so many times.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

@Toubib.. Glad to hear that :) Means you played it many times :D Thanks.
Hope you enjoyed the frustration :)

Your game pissed me off a bit, having to start all over every time I made a smaaaaal mistake ;)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Its a good idea and works good. Congrats!

GreyShock says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Really great design decision to make the bullets loop eternally, it gives you a reason to not shoot all the time but also allows you to set "defensive" barriers in the edges to make the world you have to defend smaller!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I love the fact that you have to be really careful with your shots otherwise you'll end up having to dodge a sea of your own bullets. Game itself was very enjoyable to play too.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Thanks :) Fun to see strategies emerge :D Laying a good solid round of bullets in the top of the world, makes everything a bit to easy, but hey, didn't know that when I made the game ;)

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

The bullet warping mechanic is very interesting. The edges dragging you in caught me by surprise the first time, though; i suppose i should've read the instructions more closely. Nice work!

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:37am

Thanks @NightShadow0 :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Nice little game, really fun to play and the bullets warping thing is a nice twist of gameplay. Good job!

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice shooting game :) Although I think the enemy bullets are too unforgivable.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

@CatOnMars The enemies don't shoot... You do ;)

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:31am

I like the visual style, namely the retro sprites with some more modern distortion effects.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:49am

I joined the evil universe pretty soon :) And I was getting hit by my own bullets to top it up. Nice and fun game, well done!

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Thanks for the kind words :)

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:59am

Neat twist on the shooter genre. I like that your own bullets are often more dangerous than enemies, forcing you to be more precise.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:26am

Fun once I got the hang of it - the bullet wrapping makes for an interesting feedback loop. Sometimes it helps you out, but since they can also hit your ship it pays to be accurate - creates an interesting tension :) Love that background music too.

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

@pansapiens thanks :) the background music is the first game music I have ever done, so glad you liked it :)

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:50am

Nice game! Getting shot by my own bullets is a double edge sword. The bad part is that i do damage to myself but i also found out that those bullets helped me destroy other portals.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Cool game! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/hvOt_bkuFkM

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]