Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Smasher

by BradSmallPlanet - Jam Entry

Made by a team of 2: Brad Bambara ( bradbambara.com ) & Michael Shin ( @mrmichaelshin )

Music was generously given to us for free by Tom Gardiner ( http://tombofry.co.uk )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#121Innovation(Jam)3.58
#157Fun(Jam)3.45
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#231Humor(Jam)2.80
#306Audio(Jam)3.23
#514Theme(Jam)2.85
#526Mood(Jam)2.83
#688Graphics(Jam)2.48

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice game really like the mechanics!

KittyMac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Awesome, love the orbital physics!

RedEagle120 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Fun game! Love the feel of the physics!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Amazing game feel

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Game requires a lot of skill in aiming but still feels a bit random as hitting enemy bullets with your own requires mega-luck or mega-precision. I loved the concept, the orbital mechanics were relatively well-executed, only input in that regard is: slower speed for us noobs xD.

Nice art style, music was okay too. Liked it! Good luck peeps.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

I wish I could turn faster to aim better. I spent a bunch of time playing this for how simple the game play is. Would be a lot of fun as a local two player game (but thanks for having an AI, while judging LD games I don't want to go grab another player to test out random games.)

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Great physics!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40pm

So original game, and the physics are so good, very good game!!!

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Fun game but I think mouse aiming would have been better.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

Nice touch of humor at the end screens, it's like playing with Glados :). Once I learned to shoot at where they're going to be rather than where they are at, it became a real challenge! Nice work!

rRootagea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21am

not bad, was a jolly jaunt

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:33am

It was quite fun to play.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:13am

hah that was really cool. reminded me of playing that moon simulator game in encarta back in the days... but u battle so its more badass.. and it has smasher in the title.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Very cool. A couple of times the enemy planet's orbit was mostly off-screen, but other than that it was a lot of fun.

nosfer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

I don't know how to play this, but it was funny ;)

Tesrym says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Dat music man! <3

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Ah neat, An orbital shooter! Great work.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:02am

Would love to play this.. but I kinda can't because of Unity WebPlayer not working on Linux. Can I haz Linux build? :P

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Neat little game - love the orbit functionality.

Was it luck or skill? Probably luck.

Haha good job!

sputnik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Nice action/gravitational shooter mecanic!

Docjekyll says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Solid game. LOVE the game mechanics. It definitely changes the feel once you realize you can hold down the fire button to increase the initial projectile velocity.

This would be a great multiplayer game, especially if you could find interesting ways to expand on the mechanic with powerups, debuffs, and such.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]