Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

schizm

by KittyMac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a solar system far, far away there exists two neighboring worlds which are embroiled in a millennium long war. The war have been so enduring that neither world can afford to produce completely new spaceships to carry on the conflict; instead both worlds now repurpose the derelicts and ship components from past battles which have gathered in the space between the planets. Help the blue planet to finally defeat the red planet in the dramatic conclusion to this legendary saga (huehuehue)!

Unity3D, PlanetUnity, Photoshop, Xamarin, Fake Music Generator, bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#96Fun3.73
#98Overall3.78
#117Innovation3.84
#494Mood3.06
#501Audio2.79
#534Graphics3.13
#723Theme3.01
#771Humor2.03

Comments

RedEagle120 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Fun game and pretty good concept!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Great entry! I liked the wide variety of ships you were able to build.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

On first play I was overwhelmed, trying to read what all the parts were so I lost the first time. The second time though, I taught that red planet a lesson! Fun concept and well executed. I enjoyed playing this. Well done.

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Great concept, though it seems like the larger ships are completely pointless at the moment since building lots of scouts gives the best mobility and damage output per second of build time. Aside from that, this is a great game :)

arzi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Great concept and a fun (if a bit too difficult) game! My favourite so far.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Incredibly good concept!!!

RedPanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

This is great! Shame I can't win :( The AI is too good! :D

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

best game I've played so far in the current comp. good job mate :D

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

That's so much fun! It was not so obvious what to do on the first turn but in the second it was hilarious trying to gather all the parts :D nice game!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Yea thats really good game, like the idea.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

fantastic game and cool concept. I like the recycling of parts after battles, I wish there was a sense of ownership of space, so that you could control the debris instead of having to out click the enemy.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Didn't mange to win but a fantastic concept :) The music reminded me of Law of the west for some reason(one for us older generation) hah

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The gameplay is astonishing! This game shud grow up in some thing big)

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

very cool game and idea. Lots of run but it isn't easy. The enemy also only sent out the small ships, would have been nicer if they did the big ones too

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Idea is exploitable. It's definitely fun to scavenge the space in search of the spare parts. But, as being said, it's much more fun when it's tied with the actual game mechanics.
You'd probably encounter peculiar balance disruptions this way, for example, defensive play would be more profitable, the battles will be near your planet, where debris are easier to harvest, but clicking certainly breaks the immersion.
Oh well, i've got carried away, but it's because the concept is good.

dweebster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Wow this game really rocks! Nice strategy and speed.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Cool, smart game :) I got my ass beat handily every time, but I liked the overall framework and structure of the game. Of course with some more investment it could become a really wonderful game :D Sound was a nice bonus.

Well-done and good luck!

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Neat concept and pretty cool!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51pm

This is great! Building huge ships out of the wreckage of your enemies is really fun. Good job with the AI as well, I found the balance of difficulty to be right on. I got schooled on my first playthrough, then came back with a vengeance to win the second round. One of my favs so far!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

Wow, the AI kicks the crap out of me! Nicely done, very good looking, solid gameplay! This is definitely in my top 10!

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10am

This is a great concept. I'd love to see a multiplayer version! Though I didn't see a lot of strategy.. after playing a while, it started to feel a bit futile, like the card game "War", but it as fun nonetheless.

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

Oh man I saved up all my metal and built a huge ship right at the beginning and he barely defended my planet in time. Cool game!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28am

That was actually really interesting. Neat idea!

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15am

Really impressed with this one

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23am

Even though I was unable to win, I still had a fun time.

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Interesting concept. The Ai beat me every time, and all my ships seem to avoid the enemy planet like the plague

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

Loved this! Played it multiple times, but couldn't win. Bookmarked for inspiration :D

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice "Hands-Off" RTS concept, though pretty difficult. My ships seemed to always lose to the enemy's!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Really enjoyed playing this one

mjhshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Brilliant!

01rafael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I really didn't understand what to do. What should happened witn ships then? Not bed idea at all, but I don't enjoy(

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Pretty cool, the resource gathering being a test of speed was interesting. Perhaps the game could do with being longer with the planets having more health and maybe there could be resource waves to help keep it going - felt like the game slowed down a little too much after all of the resources around had been picked up. The art style is nice, the music was surprisingly fitting. Good game!

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Love it! 10/10 ( once i figured out you could queue ships I instnatly won, might be even better if you couldn't do that).

lakael says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45am

Really fun game! I played that for wayyyy too long, in a good way though. Nicely done!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50am

Cool mechanic!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:40am

Fun game! It was a race to click the bits fastest.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:01am

Awesome entry. Love how the ships follow each other during the fight. I wished there was more levels with different challenges or quests :)

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Excellent idea and execution. Don't like the graphics still. If you work on this game more you can get something very good.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I love how planets are dran. Very detailed and natural

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I like gameplay. Not difficult but interesting.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great game! Very enjoyable!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Nice game, congrats!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Interesting idea, reminds me of space trucker, but had some issues with the cursor hit-detection of the pieces that meant I had to click on them with an offset which made things quite awkward. Got stomped pretty quickly too :p

voidqk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:24am

wow, awesome concept! I loved it! I had a bunch of glitches though :-(

KittyMac says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50am

Thanks for all of the fantastic comments! The "mouse offset" bug appears to only happen when in fullscreen mode, so I have disabled that menu in the unity web player. Cheers!

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

I don't think I've seen this mechanic before! Good idea, very addictive!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

That's a pretty neat idea! I really liked the gathering the destroyed ship parts mechanic. Had a lot of fun. Wish it was multiplayer :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice concept for builds! Really good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:44am

Victory!! Very fun to play, nicely executed concept. I had a very good time playing it. Awesome!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Brilliant concept, the opening scramble for parts reminds me of galaxy trucker. Would have been cool if the ships you built actually showed the guns/armour/engines that you put on them but given the time limit that's understandable. Maybe you can expand the game to have more detailed ship models, maybe specific combinations creates unique ship types like stealth bombers or support ships with no guns or planet bombers.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Cool game! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very interesting idea, I liked how the resources came back into play...Well executed!

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:44am

I liked it a lot!, loved the idea and the way you are supposed to build your fleet. Great job!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

extrem cool concept. i am a little addicted. the controls are a litte weired. pretty difficult. :)

Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:23am

Awesome idea, well done.

KittyMac says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 5:27am

Top 100 Overall! Thanks to everyone for voting :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]