Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds Collide

by Rage Paint - Jam Entry

Worlds Collide is a mash up of Asteroids meets Katamari.

** HTML5 client was ported in the last hour so it is buggier. Firefox and IE are really laggy **

Our idea is that earth is out of resources, and it's up to the player's to go out into space and hoard entire planets for their resources.

Gameplay:
- Collide with stars and asteroids to build up your size
- Once you've collected enough you can collect planets!
- Planet's that are too large will be highlighted in red.
- Hurry, you only have a minute!

This is our first Ludum Dare,
Tell us what you think!
What's your highscore?

Thanks everyone for the support!
We are planning on doing a post-comp version some of the things we hope to accomplish with it are:
- Mobile(iOS/Android)
- Longer play time
- More planets/collectibles
- Better indicator for hazards(large objects)
- Better sounds/music
- Optimizing
- Polish


Thanks for stopping by!
Follow us on Twitter @SoutoArts and @MauiMc.

Artist's Highscore:6,614 - I dare you to beat it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#162Fun(Jam)3.44
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#182Theme(Jam)3.58
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#227Graphics(Jam)3.77
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#345Audio(Jam)3.16

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Graphics are very nice, reminds me of space jam, don't ask me why xD

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Interesting game, only the name after installation should correspond to "Worlds Collide". It's called Rocket Planet now.

aaahhh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

One man. One Planet. Two Joysticks. TENTHOUSAND SPACE ROCKS. Will he defy the laws of physics and save his marriage? Or will he float aimlessly into oblivion?

Find Out! Summer 2015

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48am

What a clever spin on an old favorite! Once I figured out what was going on, I quickly got my planet full size!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52am

Loved this one, it was simple. I had fun just sitting back and forming a giant ball of asteroids.I spent more time playing this game than any other entry so far :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52am

Fun game, nice graphics. I like it!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52am

Loved this one, it was simple. I had fun just sitting back and forming a giant ball of asteroids.I spent more time playing this game than any other entry so far :)

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18am

Laggy in firefox (as you mentioned, I should first read then play...), but worked fine in Crome.

I liked the graphics and crusing around with a planet collecting astroids is somewhat funny.

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

This was really fun. I played through a few times because I realized there were much larger planets I had not been able to collect yet. There's a need for more polish, especially for moving objects/camera movement, but that did not detract from the game too much. I had a great time playing.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Fun Game!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56pm

graphics were really clean and nice, I liked the idea of earth being just sort of pushed around by a rocket lol, managed to get to the ending and it was pretty enjoyable. Sort of reminded me of Solar, well done! :)

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23am

OM NOM Planets!
It was fun, thanks!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50am

Really liked this one, a lot of fun. Quick and easy to pick up. I sort of wished I had a little longer than a minute to collect stuff though.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:04am

Fun game with nice graphics.

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06am

Really simple and fun game. Has a lot of Katamari in it and it runs really smoothly. Wish the timer was a little more noticeable so the ending wasn't as abrupt. Good job!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10am

Fun game! Great feel, it would be awesome to see the game scale even farther!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47am

@Everyone Thanks for all the comments and support. Glad you are enjoying our game. Once the jam is over we plan on continuing fixing, expanding and polishing this game. We appreciate all the compliments and constructive criticism.

@ViliX I changed the install last night to have the correct name as well as being in a zipped exe instead of an installer.

@zdonkeyx Thanks! We had a blast making it. I think our team really enjoyed collecting a lot of things and then crashing into a planet and watching the debris spew everywhere!

@intersectiongames/@mklee We put the timer at a minute because nothing was optimized so we didn't want the game lagging/crashing. We agree that it would be much better with more time and probably add some flashes/noises to let you know time is running out.

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:17am

Nice idea ! Web version works fine on chrome. gj

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

This has been my favorite play so far. It reminds me of that Katamari game. I don't remember the exact name, the one with rolling the ball around until you engulf entire planets. It is a shame that there are no indicators for when you can collect larger things. I did not see any highlighting other than one of the planets would sometimes turn blue.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32pm

@ceosol There is a red aura around the planets that are too big for you. But when planets are blue/green or smaller it is hard to tell. We ran out of time to polish that feature and make it more noticeable but post-jam we want to fix that.. Glad you liked it :)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Best score of 5883 at which point I was practically a galaxy of my own :D. I've always liked these kinds of games, and although this one is quite barebones it was still quite a lot of fun. Solid entry! Too bad it stops so early, I think it just starts to get interesting at the 60 seconds mark!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice graphics, fun casual game. I wish it would let you play longer, like if you reached a certain size, it would add time on the clock.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

@RobotFriend I like that concept. I think we will into adding that or possibly a clock powerup that adds time.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Highscore: 5286. awesome! make a mobile version of this and I'll get hooked! :D

hogtrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:22am

Graphics are pretty nice and the game is fun and simple like a jam game must be(for me) =]

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:01am

nice, it is slow on web but the game has potential, like the guy above said you should make a mobile version.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:20am

FIVES ALL AROUND YOU WIN. The first game I said, "Just one more time" about. GG

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22am

Saw this on Twitch and had to play. Love it!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

Slick ui, although the dropdown transition feels a little slow if you want to get into the action again quickly.

I like the nebula layer on top of the stars.

The movement of the ship felt really good with a lot of control.

The planets turning from red to blue was a good idea to let you know you can pick them up, however it was ambiguous for some other planets and I wasn't' sure if I would die or pick them up. Since you lose if you can't pick something up it's super important to know.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

Love the visuals, and the controls were spot on. I'll be coming back to play this again later.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

Fun concept - would love to see this as a mobile game.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:17am

This game reminds me of the first phase that you had to go through in Spore. The idea itself isn't the most unique but I do quite like the colourful aesthetics of the game. This is a great first entry to Ludum dare, there is something weirdly satisfying about fusing with other objects and growing in order to be able to fuse with larger objects that you couldn't fuse with before.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:19am

Hi there. Like the Katamari Damacy aspects. Rescaling works well. Tricky, and fun, to get asteroids to attach to rear.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

High score: 3520! This was fun. Good graphics and neat ship design. For a post-compo entry, I'd like to see a game with either different seeding or a different time limit... I found that I very consistently couldn't get my ship to upgrade without the first half of play being over, which was frustrating because I spent most of that time running through space seeing nothing much of interest. Then, since objects would disappear from the map at the edges, or suddenly spawn at the corners of the screen, I couldn't exactly go back to grab something I'd missed. Those big juicy planets were not, in fact, big juicy planets but rather just outsize obstacles. That's a lot of the fun of Katamari gone... the anticipation of rolling that damn thing that was in your way up.

I think you could also use a tune-up on audio. The wub wub wub spaceship noises were great, but a crash sound for when you run into something and an improvement to the song would help.

Thank you for the game! I look forward to seeing the post-compo version.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:06am

Wow, this is a lot of fun! It's immediately accessible, quick to pick up, and pretty addictive thanks to the just-too-short time limit. I started off not liking the time limit but I soon realized it made it so much easier to play the game again and again to shoot for a high score. Also, big thanks for marking the planets when they're too big! So many "eat-em-up" games don't do that and it's frustrating not knowing whether or not a pickup is actually a hazard. Great game!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Stopped too early, i wanted to reach the size of a sun :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Interesting, and very nice game! Graphics are a wonder!

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Sadly it lagged in all my browsers haha (firefox actually ran the best), but I still enjoyed it a lot despite this. Pretty addictive, nice work ;)

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Fantastic entry

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The Artist here. Guess its my turn to make comments. =P

@Everyone ~ Thank you for all the lovely compliments on the graphics and constructive critism, so we can make the game even better! We'll definitely be making a mobile version of this, so follow us on Twitter for updates!

@AtomicVikings ~ I'm so glad you liked it! It was fun watching you stream / play the game. It reminded me of why I enjoy making games: seeing the player have a good time.

@Partially Exciting ~ Haha I hear that a lot from people "Just one more time..." 3 times later...

@Crefossus and @MrJohnson22 ~ Yes, I'm glad you both mentioned the markings on the planet. I was hoping people would have a god reaction to that, and that it didn't make the game too easy. That is why some of the planets are a little hard to tell like the "lava" planet, which is red by nature. Might need to improve the red markings to make those planets more obvious that they are too big.

@Victory Garden ~ Thank you for pointing that out. I'll definitely be bugging Maui to make some changes to the spawning points, because I agre with you there. Audio was also done quickly / at the last minute. We're hoping to get a friend to make something nice for us later on.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

@Rage Paint Hey, thanks for playing This Little Piggy. You were wondering about the connection to the theme, but you must not have got very far into the game as there is indeed a second world and new gameplay mechanics which open up to you then ;) Anyway, I already commented on this game, but once again, nice work ^^

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Loved the audio, it makes a nice background to the collect-and-avoid strategies needing to be employed. Very fun game to play, it was a rewarding feeling getting bigger and bigger and seeing other objects go from being threats to targets >:D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Got 4595. Is hat good? I have no idea! Fun game :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Such interesting use theme, very literal, I mean very. Cool game.

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

That was really fun :)

My clump of miscellaneous space thingies started to expand really fast once I was able to absorb planets.

I'd have loved to keep playing after the game ended, but I understand that you want a limit if the intention is to compare high scores (and obviously to limit scope for this compo). Maybe make an optional mode without a time limit and score if you'll keep working on it?

Thumbs up!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@dickpoelen Yeah, that is a pretty good score. Best I have seen so far is Moosefly at 5883.

@lkr We are planning on doing a post-compo version where we can address the issues people are listing. Definitely gonna add more play time with bigger planets.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Well this is a rather fun game, though simple and a bit short.

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Short, but good. I like the katamari style.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Nice game, congrats!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:52am

Great graphics and the colours worked so well. Got a score of 1311.

eott says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:48am

Nice game, clear gameplay and pretty graphics.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I couldn't find a mistake other than world changes location a little bit when you change direction. I think there can be more challenge in this game other than collecting planets without touching red ones. Graphics are really cool though :)

cudabear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very nice game! My only complaint is that I didn't have more time to build a longer chain of planets!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Hm, I like how you slowly grow to eventually consume planets Spore-like, though I really wish there was more time to collect the whole unverse or something :)

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I love these kind of games! I really felt like everything was well done. I would have liked some one to make the time limit longer because I love being a giant ship.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23am

nice experience, it was great how asteroids first and then planets stick to mine :) it went all very smoothly, which is not easy to do. Great graphics and catchy tunes as well. Well done!

Carduus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:06am

Katamari in SPAAAACE!
Nice idea bro!
It is very laggy on html 5, but i see where you wanted to go with this game!
fun!

KayZ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:09am

Very cool game. Had to try again and again but my best score still was a bit short of 5000. A bit more time would have been nice. Maybe as some kind of collectible?

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:57am

I feel the camera was a bit too close to the ship early on, I was just wandering around, hopping I would find some rocks and stars

Also that 'wubwubwubwubwub' was a bit repetitive. You should rework the audio if you plan on releasing it on other plateforms

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Very cool! I maybe wrong but I guess that score depends more on what you find on your way by chance than by skill... Anyway top entry here, beautiful graphics, ok sounds and fun gameplay.

gnerkus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:23pm

The game was really slow on GameJolt.

FrozenCow says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Score: 3057
Nice spin on Katamari! Also nicely executed, it looks good and it's fun to play.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:49am

Really enjoyed this game. I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fQEfK1MQqVU

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Great game, also worked fine in Firefox.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very cool! Nice graphics and sound, would have been nice to have a longer time limit though.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:27am

Agree with the other comments - very hard to put down. Didn't like the 1 min limit, but that's probably what makes it so addictive :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:04am

Neat! Refreshing to play a game where you're actually trying to HIT the asteroids! :) Really fun game, well done.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:56pm

A very fun concept. My highest score was about 6800. I wish it wouldn't depend too much on luck, but anyway, the overall game and style is well done.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice entry, a bit like pac-man or osmos in space! Very fun.

mechabit says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:01pm

cool game, a bit like osmos where you need to be a certain size to collect a thing. It's great when you have a big long arm and can just sweep up all the planets in a wide arc

H1S2 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:16am

cool game. was addicted instant.

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice game :)
We thought about quite a similar idea at the begging.
Nice to see it in action :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Really nice graphics! Nice planets!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:15am

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare! You did an excellent job from my point of view. It reminded me of the game Osmos. The minor things that buged me was that the planets once touched should dissapear, i ended up having a big dick in space :lol: that took all the screen, also work on memory management and optimization, as you get bigger i lagged a lot. Other than that it was a super awesome game you did there. Congratz again! :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Looks great and really fun once you get a decent mass built up. High score 5361

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:02am

Tremendously laggy over here (on chrome,) it doesn't seem like it should be, you need to look into optimizing this thing. Seems like it would be fun, but it's hard to play at 1/8th speed.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:52am

Laggy on Chrome, indeed. But wonderful graphics !

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Simple, but well done with the graphics and music. Nice game to chill out to.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]