Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

HexConquest

by LeoZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Strategy game:

Click your units (the green ones) to open the possible actions.

Conquest the enemy main world to win.

Further instructions:
Conquest other worlds/planets by moving spacecrafts near them. They will become your worlds after a few turns. More near spacecrafts = faster conquest.
Every of your worlds will increase your resources after a turn, some of them can attack/repair or build new spacecrafts.

Attack enemy spacecrafts by moving near them (Spacecraft = 2 units range, Main-/medium worlds = 1 unit range) and choosing the attack option, if the enemies are in range they will turn red, click them to attack.

If you cannot move/attack/repair/build anymore, end your turn, the enemy will respond to your actions and you will be able to execute actions again.

AI behaves jerky sometimes :/

Edit: Added WebPlayer (seems to have focus problems in Chrome) link & OSX/Linux builds (both untested)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#390Fun3.23
#618Overall3.15
#704Graphics2.88
#817Innovation2.81
#999Mood2.38
#1121Theme2.12
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16am

When you win, it displays both you won and you lost over eachother, may want to fix that. VERY FUN GAME THOUGH

LeoZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

@Spacemyname
I definitely will when I find time, I plan to really finish this later on and implement all the ideas I had.
Thanks for checking it out!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Quite fun game but the control should be better..For exemple something that shows you that the unit is out of move or somthing like that..
And I can't find the "connected worlds" theme in this game.

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I'm Confused i don't know why sometimes i see my ships and sometimes they dissapear but godd start polish it and i will return to play it again and maybe understand everything :D

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Really good concept here , graphics are simple but seem to work for this game. Only change I would like to see here is the UI for the controls of a hexagon are the same ,so would be nice to see something that stands out more to the user (Perhaps border colour from white to another more vibrant colour).

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

very good game! I like hexagon based strategy games (civilization fans?) and this one is not an exception :D although the "unfinished game" feeling is too strong, it is acceptable in a competition like that. good job mate!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Interesting game

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

It's a little difficult to follow the interface at first. But not for long. A great hex strategy game, I can really imagine getting into this with more units, options, maps and all sorts. Even with the bare bones its addictive.
Great Job!

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Well, I agree with your notes--it's definitely rough around the edges. And yet I played it longer than any other LD game so far. It felt clunky but I was very compelled to take all the cities, and eventually won. It needs some TLC, but overall it was a pretty good experience. Solid 48 hour work.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Crashes on Chrome when I click something :(

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

This is a really fun, cool game, once you figure out how everything works.

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

That was fun - would love to see more of this :)

A minor suggestion is that it'd be nice if you could see if a unit had moves left without having to click it, as this got a bit tedious when I had a bunch of them trying to cross the map.

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Lots of clickin! But I finished the game. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

Hi there. Nice looking abstract strategy. Always love hexes. Bookmarked for a relook later. Shame no sounds yet. Good job!

the says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:07pm

It is need something more to be really intresting, but one the other hand it is one of few strategic games in LD, so good job.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:13pm

It was a lot of fun to play. Very nice gameplay. Too easy to win in the first try, you could make more difficult levels. The only but is that your theme was not connect but conquest ...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]