Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Corrected Words

by swistakm - Jam Entry

We have corrected theme with our Corrected Words game!

"Mario got too cool and became quite rude. Prepare to hear from him insults you've never heard before."

---

Information for Linux users. You will probably need to install libavbin to get sound working. On ubuntu simply write 'sudo apt-get install libavbin' in your terminal.

Mac OS X users: you have bundled avbin package in installer. Simply install it by double clicking on AVbin10.pkg before running game if you want to have sound and music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#78Humor(Jam)3.48
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#538Theme(Jam)2.78
#538Audio(Jam)2.56
#626Graphics(Jam)2.76
#631Fun(Jam)2.56
#660Mood(Jam)2.41
#676Overall(Jam)2.73

Comments

seagaia says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Didn't work for me on windows - get this message. http://gyazo.com/3fdb53d8c7693c59285f20a3f981f494

swistakm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

@seagaia: now it should work. I will be grateful if you test it again and tell if issue still exists.

Njord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:49am

I started playing, it went fine for the first minute then the game crashed and the .exe was ... gone. I had time to read the ingame instructions though, the concept looks fun :D

swistakm says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

@Njord could you test it now? I have enabled console so if it craches you should see a traceback that would help fixing a bug.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

The little command prompt thing comes up, does some stuff then disappears... Then nothing else launches? If you can fix it that'd be great, since I've been looking forward to playing this! (Windows)

swistakm says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Guys, I have fixed last issue (I hope it's a last one) and uploaded new windows build. Hope it works now. Sorry for that. Now I know that next time I have to test it on more machines before releasing.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Good job!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Interesting take on the theme, but it was too hard hitting those wrong letters though...

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Clever way to twist the theme, interesting gameplay but very challenging to hit the correct block at the correct time. Good work!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The text scrolls by way too fast, it's near impossible to read and correct anything. Good idea though, even if Mario is a prick. Awesome interpretation of the theme :D

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very interesting gameplay, and classical graphics ;)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Interesting concept, but it goes a bit too fast for me. I'm not a native english speaker, that might be the reason why. Also, I found out we weren't punished for hitting wrong letters, so I just kept jumping and my score increased. This should be easily fixed.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Funny idea, more then proper presentation. The timing on a jump is kinda too hard to figure out to be intuitive, but that may be just me.

Tifu says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I just get a black screen for a second, then it closes :(
No error message, just a program appears to try to start, then fails to do so. Windows version.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:48pm

It's cool idea. Howewer it's a little hard that texts goes too fast.

swistakm says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:53pm

@Tifu, If you run it in console and give me a screenshot of traceback (it should be there) I can try to fix this issue.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Didn't work on windows seems to just open and then crash with no error. (also not sure if its a joke but the theme was connected worlds not corrected words)

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Does not work on Windows 7. I would run it in the console and give you the output, but I don't know how.

gladers says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Wont run in Windows 8.1 window just closes.
Opened in admin console, no error message in the console.
Looking forward to playing, will check back and try again later if there is a fix :)

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Not working for me on windows 7 either.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Well, this is really hard. Reading AND understanding AND correcting AND timing the jump right is just too much for me.
But it's a really funny game and I like rude mario.

One bug I encountered: The music stopped playing after a while.
Running on Windows 7 64-bit.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Jeez, Mario is extremely rude. Fun game play though, and nice music.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:21am

Interesting idea, but couldn't read fast enough to detect the errors before they were out of reach. Also got bored after a few words and just waited until the end without jumping. The "coins" aren't that much of a reward, if you ask me.

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Tried to play it but it closes immediately... Couldn't get it to run... Windows version on Windows 7 HP x64.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]