Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Jumper

by HotBoxGames - Jam Entry

In Planet Jumper, you'll play as Larry - a young space explorer who loves nothing more than to travel across the various planets in his galaxy.

Recently, more and more planets seem to have been colliding together - and what happens when two planets collide? Thats right, coins appear! Lots of shiny gold coins! Larry wants to seize this opportunity by collecting as many coins as possible - try to help him out!

Don't forget to use your trusty jetpack to fly between planets.

CONTROLS:
A/S or Left Arrow/Right Arrow - Move left/right
W or Up Arrow - Hop
Space - Jetpack

FEATURES:
- Listen to awesome space music!
- Hop from planet to planet in our randomly generated space!
- Collect coins and visit more planets to increase your score!
- Enjoy the scenery as planets collide and merge making all kinds of weird shapes!
- Post your score to our online leaderboard and become Ultimate Planet Jumper Champion!

If you play in the browser, make sure you try fullscreen mode!

--

We're quite pleased with how this game turned out, but like everyone we wish we could have added more. If we had more time, or managed to get things done a bit quicker, we would have looked to do the following:

- Add a minimap
- Utilise PhysX (for gravity on planets and such)
- Recode the 'hop' mechanic
- Add more powerups
- Add drills/explosives for digging through planets
- Create a much larger level size
- Add automatic camera zoom

What a weekend! We had a blast creating this for LD30 and hope you enjoy playing it too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#151Humor(Jam)3.12
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#210Theme(Jam)3.54
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#280Overall(Jam)3.37
#325Innovation(Jam)3.14
#374Graphics(Jam)3.41
#486Mood(Jam)2.91

Comments

goosetickler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Fun little game! I love the world expansion as the planets collide together. Every now and then I had a strange collision issue but it was neat little game, good job!

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Hopping around is fun, except for when jumping into the void. Took me a while to land on a planet again :D

Crashing in each other looks cool as well, nice one.

danbo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I was expecting more of these types of games but this was pretty well-presented! I like the planets joining together.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Great fun, would be nice if the planets exerted some gravity, or else make the jump speed faster. Drifting off into the void can be a real bummer

TeamConn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice game. I was wondering how limited steering while in flight would have changed the game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:23pm

This download is incredibly! slow.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Drifting off into the void got really frustrating since there was no minimap or gravity on the planets, but otherwise a nice game with good polish.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

pretty neat game! i like the music and the jumping. pretty difficult though trying to line things up. nice job!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Nice one. The concept is funny and rather well realized.
With a little less rigid character controls (a minimum of air management maybe), the game could be more pleasant.
Well done anyway :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Hey everyone, thanks for all the positive comments - it really is appreciated.
We're quite pleased with how the game turned out, especially considering it was made in just over 2 days!

We couldn't agree more with most of your suggestions, if we had longer to complete the project (let's say a week) we would have loved to do the following:

• Add a minimap
• Utilise PhysX (for gravity on planets and such)
• Recode the 'hop' mechanic
• Add more poweups
• Add drills/explosives for digging through planets
• Much much much larger level size

Thanks again for the comments & don't forget to post your scores to the leaderboard! :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

There I was, happily wandering around a planet when worlds started to crash around me. I began to wonder if I had a portable black hole in my pocket.

Quite innovative - I enjoyed the bright colourful planets smashing into each other. I think the core mechanic could have done with a little tuning, but it was fun nonetheless.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nifty! Thought it was fairly straightforward at first, then obviously things got ridiculous pretty quickly :D Interesting spin on a nice idea! Could see it workin' well with some smoother Mario Galaxy-esque physics too.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice little game. The camera movement could have been better.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Hell ! It's not connected world it's crashing worlds ! hehe was funny when all planets started to crash towards me... but you can't die ? Too bad :( I wished there was a time limit somehow... (maybe if planets transforms to stars and then black hole hehe)

AdricZero says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Your entry was similar to Hop Hop Planet, but moved a lot faster, was more interesting and had more humor. Music and sound effects were very good too.

Hop Hop Planet:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=35485

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice little game.
Cool graphics.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very nice game just think my PC is a little too slow to run it .

FXCesinha says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:11am

Awesome, i love planets, nice graphics too.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:28am

Well made! I occasionally flew off far into space, but good all around :)

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I like the idea of the worlds colliding to change them (although it seems to spawn too many worlds at once) good job!

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Great audio and graphics. It looks very polished. The controls and the collision were a bit frustrating though. It was hard to get the character to do what I wanted.

handkor says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Great concept. This game is fun.

Pavel says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:52am

Very good idea and theme implementation. Was fun to play.

t4u says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice graphics but nothing prevents you from endless jump if you miss the planet.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:25am

Awesome space music and leaderboards! Good job!

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:26pm

First time I didn't get that whatever world I was on would attract other worlds. Plus, I was unlucky that it was a rather abandoned place without neighbors. I hit space and flew off thinking it might work, but nope. It took quite a while too before I hit the edge of space. So I would recommend having some limited oxygen supply or so when out in space so you can't space-travel that far.

Second try, my initial place was more suitable and that made it much more intuitive and fun to play. So besides that first run experience, a really nice game!

Acuity says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:57am

My first game started on a planet with nothing nearby. Not knowing how to zoom out yet... I just jumped off into space and died at the edge of the screen.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Really fun game. Sometimes I had issues with collision and hopping between planets. The jetpack seemed like the less buggy version of switching planets.
The music makes this so much more enjoyable.
I often died without any apparant reason, maybe something indicating why you died would be great.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really nice game. Loved how the planets merged together. The thing that through it off was there were some times when pressing W to jump that I would go flying or using A/D to move would switch directions. Other than that very fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]