Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lux in Tenebris

by LuxPerpetua - Jam Entry

Update: "We spent some time to fix most of bugs and issues you mentioned. So you can play now on kongregate under 3rd link. But remember. only first and second link is a Campo version we made in 72 hours.
Bugs fixed :
crystals give you HP, only if you activate them
pointer in third lvl - added
better lighting

Upgrades :
mouse less sensitive
mouse cursor disabled
credits added
hp, regenerates smoothly
point lights (hp) visually upgraded

(http://www.kongregate.com/games/aurora_games/lux-in-tenebris-ludum-dare) "



Our first time in Ludum Dare. Its done, not bad for only 2 men.
We are using unity 3d, Some free music and sounds.

There is world of light, and world of shadows.
In the game you are a wisp of light, which tries to return luminosity to the world of darkness.
To be honest, there is not so much about the connection. but hey, Dont look so stricty, and this is jam at least.

Word about gameplay:
We start in darkness and our task is to rich the monument somewhere on the map. We've made tutorial for you at start of the game so u will know everyting.
And please. try to hang on to 2nd and 3rd level, becouse there are just more interesting.


Bugs and issues:
-Enemies dont know what is collider. (at least, my mate says its good )
-Sometimes pointer hides.
-In WEB version is better to use ctrl and alt instead of left and right mause buttons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#222Mood(Jam)3.38
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#312Audio(Jam)3.22
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#554Humor(Jam)1.91
#586Theme(Jam)2.62
#607Fun(Jam)2.61
#617Graphics(Jam)2.78

Comments

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

nice work here :)

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

Nice entry and a pretty good work on it! ^^

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

Well done, seems to be a bit buggy on osx/chrome. I'm not convinced that is completely your fault. Again, well done.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very beautiful experience. The music is tops, and really sets the tone.

One note, I've been exploring on the second level for some time, and the menu with resume, restart, and quit popped up out of nowhere. I can't click resume (every time I try, it fires a light ball off into the distance). Restart worked, but I obviously didn't want to do that.

Really cool experience and setting. I think it's a great proof of concept that you could turn into a polished, larger game.

eddiegtp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22am

Super cool! This idea could definitely be expanded into a larger game (survival horror, maybe?). Interesting enemies too, very spooky.

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29am

This is a really nice game. I like the mood of it, though the levels being all the same color gets kind of bland after a while. The music adds a lot to it. Would be cool if the light orbs also took into account my own movement.

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

Audio and ambiance are great !
I really like the concept of the game, great idea.
4/5 from me. Good job !

Some minor issues :
- You sometimes dies by ghost coming from places you didnt see.
- Mouse sensitivity is too high.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57am

was not 100% sure on the goal but that didn't matter. cool idea and the first time a ghost came from nowhere and got me was a little eerie.

JUJU says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07am

Pretty solid game, once you get past the spotty grammar. Very long too :O

LuxPerpetua says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

Thanks everybody for comments. They are very important to us :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

Pleasure to play. I couldn't understand it at the beggnning. The control is quite rough but it is an innovative idea for interesting gameplay.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Graphics are brilliant and complement gameplay. Gameplay's innovative and fun, building tension all the time. A little buggy, mouse appeared sometimes, lights flickered a bit, and it wasn't particularly clear that I had to light crystals to survive at first. But I love the persistence in each level.
I could see this being a game I'd pay money for if it were expanded upon!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Nice entry :D it could be hard to create in 72 hours

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice, you put some effort to make a tutorial section. It helped to get into the game much faster that some other LD entries.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:14pm

It has a little bug... if you die, the cursor arrives on the screen, and that's a bit annoying >.<

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Very good job for 2 people on their first entry. I look forward to your next entries on LD.

udo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Congratz on your first entry, good job! Though you wrote that mouse sensitivity has been reduced, it's still crazy sensitive (at least on my machine, OS X).

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]