Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Styx

by alpha_rat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 game created with Construct2
graphics : photoshop
sound effects : bosca ceoil and bfxr

* controls *
left, up, down to move
r to reload
left click to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#218Graphics3.67
#546Theme3.27
#561Humor2.32
#616Mood2.91
#673Audio2.49
#970Overall2.77
#991Fun2.51
#1151Innovation2.05

Comments

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

Pretty hard to kill some skulls...Great Idea for Connected Worlds!

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

Pretty good. I like the graphics. I'm not sure if the little souls in the boat were supposed to be taken away when I got hit, but they weren't. All three were in the boat when I got gameover.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

I've made it to the Necropolis! Thanks god for my laser skull :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Cool mood and nice graphics. Nice idea for the theme.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Very nice to look at, great use of the theme. The skulls are tough to kill without slowing down and the gameplay is simple, but you kept it short so it doesn't get repetitive.

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great graphics ! And I love the idea of a shmup on the styx x)
The fact that it is not an autoscroller is a bit confusing at first.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very beautiful graphics!

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

very nice art, i feel i m in a death metal concert with the sound of the laser, drugs definitively add good aspect ! ;p Seriously very nice but we want more weapons ! :)

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Great art. And killing skulls is satisfying. I made it to necropolis! GJ.

ebolbe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I love this graphics!!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Hi!
I got to necropolis!
Please make it more challenging and add leaderboards (with c2 and clay.io plugin its pretty easy!)

Good luck!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Killer presentation, I found it hard but entertaining and pretty much bugless!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice game, but it could be a little faster.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very fun to play. Really like the graphics. Love the pew pew sound of the lasers :D

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Those poor souls :D

smizmeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice art and style. Who doesn't want to shoot lasers to blast skulls across the river Styx?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15am

Now, this brings an entirely new meaning to "bullet hell"... I love the concept. As they said below: now let's have some more weapons and enemies :D With the current lineup, I just sat there pew pewing and made it to the end. Couldn't move fast enough to get to any of the skulls that weren't directly in my path, and they weren't going to go after me anyway.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

nice, but takes a lot of hits to kill the skulls

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Hi there. Nice sounds and graphics. Like the gun noise particularly, splatty machine gun in my head! Good to see Construct2 being used here... Good job!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Graphics weren't bad, but killing skulls was very difficult

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

Neat Graphics. The game is a bit hard but doable. Good job!

snooze82 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:55pm

nice graphics, but hard to beat :)

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Graphics were nice!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Lol wait- was I like Hades shooting at bubble skulls with my laser? Okay x)

There's not much incentive to shoot at skulls at first, that's only once you finish it that you're realize it's a "high score" game :P Now playing it as a freeride thing is cool too, I like seeing me ridie my boat over the Styx with my turn signal on!

Very good graphics, the gameplay feels a bit poor (lack of time I guess) but overall I had a nice time playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]