Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Live is Life

by borgi - Jam Entry

Experimental game with some puzzle elements. Easy to finish.
(25 mb, care) We did not have time for the audio part of the game, we will have to work on that after LD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#56Graphics(Jam)4.33
#97Humor(Jam)3.35
#121Innovation(Jam)3.58
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#189Mood(Jam)3.47
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#620Audio(Jam)1.93

Comments

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Amazing artwork style! I really enjoyed the discovery process on each level. Sadly I couldn't get past the coin/maze level. :( Sad because I really want to keep adventuring in these artistic worlds.

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

Burger to eat fattening WAS wonderful! Hahaha I identified!
I liked the art and animation! great job!

Kaol -

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00am

Very inventive. Cool artwork. was very interesting.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EGikhmjTSZI (Opus' song :D)

I loved the art, it was completely gorgeous, but I gotta say that levels and mechanics weren't good designed, I'm sorry, I played through all the stages even when some of them were pointless and not fun.

Well done for a first ludum dare! 5/5 in grahpics.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Thank you guys for playing it, we are glad you liked some part of our game! Thanks for the crits also!

Ludipe: The first money (not coin) collecting part is "not fun" on purpose (and the secound too). Maybe some of the stages are less interresting at the end, we did not have that much time to work on those to make it really enjoyable, but we have finished all the stages we intend to finish. We are planing to polish those parts and add audio also.

deathray: The coin collectig part might be a bit hard, but try to work ahead with the mouse before you start moving, in that way you can have more time watching the ghost. Try to kite the ghost!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:21pm

not the most fluid gameplay but the art is just awesome! i like it especially the animations! great puzzles altho some levels were just fun :))
good job!

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Super interesting and quirky stuffs. I loved feeding the eye-ball hamburgers to make him grow. Good stuff!

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Love the idea of exploring a land that was estranged and weird with who knows what around each corner! I do wish there was some common theme or unifying element carrying me through each stage though. Your art style and animation on the eye especially shows real promise and has me wondering what's next from this team?

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Art.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:05pm

It started out pretty interesting, got quite ludicrous at times, but that bank note grabbing stage and the dark room stage were antithesis of fun; I don't care whether it was on purpose or not, they simply weren't. >.<

Leaving these aside, it sure was one of the more unique entries out here. ^^"

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

The style is nice, but the controls are a little tricky! neat game.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Incredible artwork, neat little game.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

That was cool, but WASD on an AZERTY keyboard is quite hard... You should detect the type of keyboard and adapt!
That said, it was fun, but the lack of direction is quite confusing sometimes!

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

This kind of thing is right up my ally. Nice game, nice graphics, could've used music though.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:23am

A really neat entry!

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:18pm

"Under maintenance"
Oh no :( Screenshot looks very nice.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Thank you guys again for trying tha game and thank you for your comments!

I have added a mirror link where you can try it while uw.hu is under maintenance.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The web link said under maintenance and the mirror link stopped loading half way through. Art looks amazing.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Nice, great graphics

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Looks beautiful, I can't wait to play (it's quite long to load).

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Great artwork and animation.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hey ! I liked this game with many mini games (looks like mine) ! Congrats !

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Like the art style a lot, and the game was fun. The ghost part was a bit hard though! Good game overall!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Very artsy, there could be some hints from time to time on how to proceed. Apart from that, quite a compelling experience, well done!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very bizarre (in a good way!). The variety of different gameplay mechanics must have taken a while to implement. Lovely surreal game.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:43am

Good game With a nice art style

hungyg says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Great art style, very original progression. A heads up, I managed to break the game by accudentally walking off to the left in the "blue forest" level. Had to refresh the page. Thanks for playing my game, it was a pleasant surprise to see others from Hungary ^_^ Keep up the good work!

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

This was a very interesting experience indeed. A lot of varied content. Still a lot of potential to improve on, but I liked it.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Nice game, lovely artwork. Fell in love with the main character except the fact that he so silent and simple.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]