Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warp Pong

by Reisn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Warp Pong is a adaptation of Pong and my first Ludum Dare entry. I didn't have much time so it's pretty simple.

There are four different worlds with their own player positions and their own gravity directions.
Everytime you cross the line and thereby warp to another world you get one point.
Just try to get a high score and beat mine: 32.

Movement - WASD, arrow keys
Pause - P, Space
Mute - M

Update: Added stand-alone versions (Windows & Linux).
Btw if the web version is receiving strange input, just try the stand-alone version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#133Fun3.63
#404Innovation3.36
#662Audio2.52
#684Overall3.08
#707Mood2.81
#758Theme2.94
#914Humor1.67
#1104Graphics2.14

Comments

Natdave says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:08am

I like it :)

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:15am

Simple and beautiful mechanics. I want brick! :)

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:33am

nice

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:17am

Simple, beautiful, clever. Kind of disorienting, in a good way (a la Super Hexagon) - maybe you could try to push that angle?

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

A cool take on Pong I've never seen before. On theme, a clever mechanic and it plays well. Nice.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

'tis quite amusing. It's really interesting how you did the controls, and I quite like it. (CKirk, on a team mate's account)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

This game really keeps your brain on its toes. It feels like something people would use to train their brains. The concept stuck with me. You turned an old classic into a new classic!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

Very good concept.
Why you didn't keep the angle of the ball after the world-switch? It would make the game a lot more interesting!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

For being a pong "clone" it's pretty dang trippy. Nice job! A bit more polish would have been great, but even without it, this is definitely pretty fun.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24am

Nice! Got 20 points! Please add leaderboards!Loved it!

The Colonel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

I really like it! Great concept!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

Great game! smooth mechanics and fun idea!

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

simple and fun!

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Got 24!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Simple, interesting take on classic pong. I noticed that sometimes I can only sometimes see the lines - is that intentional? Once I understood how it was choosing which side to change to, it became more fun because I'd be trying to work it out in advance. Nice game.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

At the start i didnt understand then i was feeling good but i will be happy to get more variations gameplay :)

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Ran fine on Linux, though I had to install a windows font package to get the score text to render.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:00am

A simple but effective and fun use of the theme! Awesome job for your first LD!

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice game, congrats!

gnerkus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:23am

Crazy! It needs more juice,though.

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Couldn't get far on my laptop. Should have tried on my desktop maybe the bigger screen would give me more time to react. Like the idea. Good game, with more time and polish could really have fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]