Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Linked by a Rhythm

by Blastopio - Jam Entry

** NOTE: Should be a 48H Compo entry but i couldn't find a way to host my project in time**

"Two worlds overlapse each other. Before, nobody could see nor be affected by the other one but things are changing since some few peoples understood that the two world are beating at the same pace. And if you find and follow that rhythm, you can be part of them at the same time."

Features:
- Switch between two worlds to avoid damage
- Enemies shots follow a master beat and generate music when firing

Defaults inputs:
- Move: Up, Down, Right, Left
- Change to world 1: left mouse click
- Change to world 2: right mouse click
- Use(Disable enemy): right ctrl

Rules:
- You can't be hurt by bullets from the other world
- You have to deactivate robots to progress
- One hit and you die

To do:
- Player should be able to change world only in rhythm
- Add door system to prevent player to progress if he didn't deactivate enemies from a zone
- Add more enemy fires (like circle expanding around them to force player to jump or crouch)
- Add more enemies, boss at the end of a level
- Improve visual things like animations, textures, lights, etc... Smooth the switch between world (smooth color and BGM transition for example)

Softwares:
- Unity
- Ableton Live
- Blender

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Audio(Jam)3.79
#240Innovation(Jam)3.29
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#577Fun(Jam)2.68
#666Graphics(Jam)2.57
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I like when games is strongly connected with music. Great concept, I hope you develop it in something more :)

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice work :) Music is quite annoying sometimes but anyway it was a pleasure to play it

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Interesting mix of ikaruga and beat matching. The clean two-tone graphics really help communicate the mechanic to the player.

I found it quite difficult to manage the button presses whilst navigating the narrow corridors.

Perhaps disabling the turrets should be automatic when the player touches them? And maybe you could just use one mouse button to toggle between the two states.

Cool idea!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Love games where music is a part of the gameplay. Very interesting and trippy experience, although a bit simplistic.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice concept and fun to listen to!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very funny and original

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Really neat game idea, I feel like if it got much harder I would have had to figure out how to react to the shoot-sounds alone and change my colors. As it was, I did it visually.

This is obviously just a concept demo since it only has 5 rooms, but it's creative and impressive. Good work.
*Just read your note at the top, that explains why it felt like one person built this from scratch. Even more impressive!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:29pm

cool game. it`s similar to ours in terms of how you got to respond to the music. exept ours is in 2D. I would have found a little information in form of a HUD helpful. Still, nice work!

Tosic says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:22am

I like the enemies and graphics, but you could add a health bar or a 3d text showing the health of the player!

Tosic says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:22am

BTW, I use Blender and Unity as well :D

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Great concept, i think you really can do something cool about this ! The gameplay is frustrating and you can end up the level juste by running !

Teesquared says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:03am

Nice audio and mood. Controls didn't work well for me. Graphics are simple but they work. Interesting way to use dynamic sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]