Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

First of the Final

by bakwards - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Colonize the inner solar system!

You are in charge of an international space program, tasked with colonizing the inner solar system.

Keep an eye on your available Science and beware the added ship costs when a mission is unsuccessful!

> Play with gravity and spam enormous amounts of starships.
> Use Science to send your ships on their way!
> Watch out for rising costs as you lose ships to the void.

Zoom with mousewheel or R + F
Send ships from controlled planet with mouseclick
Click green planets to control them
Move around with WASD

Made with Unity 4.6 Beta

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#284Graphics3.55
#308Innovation3.48
#377Theme3.48
#413Humor2.54
#471Overall3.29
#623Fun2.97
#630Mood2.89
#972Audio1.58

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35am

Awesome, Beat the game! was definitely fun to play. lost before hand, got the hang of it and won. Good progression :). science is 19437 at win :)

GJ!

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Overall very good game, but zooming-in-out would have been nice.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

One of the interesting games I played here sofar. The gameplay very unique, I liked it. But I think, you should work on blanace a little.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

Neat game, I would have liked to see more planets and obstacles like moons, black holes etc.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21am

Very fun concept! Imagine if NASA could pump out ships at that rate. :D

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

Great innovative game, i just only miss the audio but it has new mechanincs and good graphics. Colonize the entire galaxy !

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37am

fun game, took a bit to get the hang of but fun, nice job.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41am

Simple but fun. I liked the win text :D

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

You were right , similar concepts we came up with. Pretty fun once you got the hang of it :P suggestion would be to reverse the scroll wheel as most games have the scroll back as the zoom out and not the in like yours

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Really cool concept! It took a bit to get use to the effect gravity had on the ships but once I got it down those planets were mine! Good job!

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

@TeamOnBack heh, yeah i figure that - but I was using my new mac for the build, and I didn't think about the reversed scroll on macs :D

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great work Kristian :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Great take on the theme and nicely built. I found it was difficult to get the small planets right, but well balanced anyway. Good effort!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

This was pretty fun. Was a bit confusing after I moved the camera and found I couldn't shoot anymore, but I quite liked it. You should get bonus points for missing a planet, but hitting it on the way back :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]