Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected We Run

by Sandcrawler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are the Arrow Keys.

Endless runner.

Tools:
Construct 2 (Engine)
php (Highscore table)
Photoshop (making squares)
Fakemusicgenerator.com (music)
Audacity (modifying the generated music)


Edit 8/24/14 1:12pm PST(4 hours left):
I found some time to add music, sound, and a more interesting menu screen. I also fixed the bug with the replay button by removing it entirely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#339Theme3.54
#482Audio2.81
#788Fun2.79
#873Mood2.62
#889Humor1.75
#903Innovation2.68
#905Overall2.84
#1120Graphics2.10

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:13pm

If you press play after you lost once before, you are greeted by the game over screen again :)

Ohems says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Not only that, but your score increases steadily when watching the Game Over screen. You can get infinite points :P

Ohems says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Also, is the map totally random? Because I met a few situations where it was impossible to proceed.

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I'm uploading a new version that fixes the replay by taking it out. I couldn't get it working, and I cannot think of why right now.

The map is totally random after the first five platforms.

YopSolo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10am

your leaderboard is not secured

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41am

The game is good, but the screen moves too slowly. and jumping into the side of a platform is a bit buggy. I also don't like the imposable levels, but there isn't much you can do about that.

@YopSolo: It's almost imposable to secure a leaderboard, so I think it's justified to not have it be secure within 48 hours.

joseadrian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57am

Would it be possible to select the speed? Because it's a little bit to slow. But Good game!

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06am

Your spawning makes the game impossible at times. Otherwise, neat idea!

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08am

Unfortunate that it doesn't speed up or prevent impassable levels, but aside from that (and the music being a tad repetitive), it was pretty good for being made in 48 hours. Especially so when you consider that most infinite/endless runners have far less content and still make money.

dokidoki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18am

I like the "single controls for two people in two different worlds", partly because it's similar to mine. :) I had some of the issues mentioned above, but good job.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19am

I'm not sure what the actual loss condition here is? I had one block fall because there were no reachable platforms, but I could play as the other until walking off of the screen. Is this intentional?

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24am

It's very tricky and has a cool concept! There are some glitches, and often the game creates platforms in such a way that it's practically impossible for both blocks to continue, but it's a good base to start from!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25am

Speed of this game is way too low, but the game idea is really good.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

It's very tricky and has a cool concept! Like I said in the comments before, there are some glitches, and often the game creates platforms in such a way that it's practically impossible for both blocks to continue, but it's a good base to start from!

Xenolupus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

I really enjoyed this one. The theme of "connected worlds" really showed with this one!

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Got an impossible jump x_x

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Increasing the platform movement speed and modifying the spawning of the platforms some would help. Sometimes a higher platform will block the player from jumping, and the speed of the platforms makes the gameplay more slow paced than the average platformer.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

It's okay for such a fast compo, but it's still extremely basic, and I don't like it when I lose due to absolutely impossible jumps. Try a better RNG next time (push the upper threshold down).

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Cool game and I Liked the concept. However it was a little slow :/
Also i guess it was bad luck but there was an unpassible part for me and i fell to my death :(
there were 4 or 5 platforms all too high for me to jump on and the next one was too far for me to make the jump.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Love the concept, the music, and where this is going. It's a cool idea.

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

Wow, thanks for all the comments everyone. I'm going to hit on a few of the comments first, then specific ones.

Speed - I realize now the speed is low, I wanted the game to start slow and get faster. The platforms do increase the speed that they move, by five pixels every 10 seconds. Platforms are spawned randomly every 3 seconds. You can see the speed increase because some of the platforms will catch up to the ones ahead. Overall I think the speed should increase faster or there should be multiple difficulties that determines the speed.

Platform Spawning - I know it can spawn platforms that make the jump impossible. Its purely random on the Y axis so sometimes it spawns them right up at the top. It could be fixed by making it so that the platforms cannot spawns above where the player can fit. Initially I wanted the player to be able to jump outside of their worlds, as a way to get onto the platforms above, but it wasn't working out.

@YopSolo No its not. As Nsmurf mentioned I don't think securing a leaderboard is worthwhile for a 48 hour game. There is a maximum score set, but it was set impossibly high and I lowered it to reasonable now. This game technically has no end and the score could be really high if you got lucky with the platforms.

@Nsmurf I have noticed that jumping in the side of the platforms can bug out. and you end up falling through it. I recall having this problem in past versions of Construct 2, and finding a way to fix it. I'll look into it if I continue.

@joseadrian In any future versions I will for sure have either multiple difficulties for the speed, or have a speed ramp up faster.

@gandalf1209 Sorry, I knew the platform spawning was going to do it, but I couldn't think of a fix at the time.

@Gravity Games It does speed up, but its relatively slow to increase speed. The music was added at the last minutes, I had limited time today and managed to squeeze it in. I agree it is repetitious and I would like to have had more songs for it.

@dokidoki Thanks, I though it would be interesting to control two characters at the same time, specifically in an endless runner where at some point you are going to lose one of the two character, or sacrifice one. I will check out your submission as well as everyone else who has commented.

@kirbytails7 There is no lose condition, the goal is to run as far with both characters as you can. The lowest time that a character survives or the first one to fall out becomes the multiplier for the score. So it takes the time of the lowest run multiplied by the total of both runs.

@kadybat Thanks, I will certainly keep it in mind if I continue with it.

@tomkers Thanks, In any future versions I will increase the speed.

@Xenolupus Great I was a little worried about the theme showing, some of the early people that I had play the game saw it as a mirrored world, rather than a connected one. And while I think the two are similar I do not think a connected world needs to be the same.

@Weaver Yep...sounds about right.

@Greg Klein Agreed, I should have revisited the platform spawning when I blocked the character from jumping outside of the respective world. Speed slowly grows but I agree it starts of really slow and you tend to get an impossible jump before the speed increases greatly.

@StencylTuo It is basic, I had other stuff to do this weekend as well and did not end up with as much time as I would have liked. I also struggled with the theme in the beginning, so I started Saturday instead of late Friday. The platform spawning needs to be adjusted but initially the player could jump up to the platforms above the world space.

@Fanttum Thanks. I have had that happen while I've been playing. Sometimes there is no hope, but sometimes you can wait for one of the faster platforms to close the gap.

@Kate Kligman Glad to hear it, I am happy with how it has turned out in the time that I had.


Thanks again for all of the comments and feedback.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29am

Minimalist, but not the least. Interesting concept. Bravo ++

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47am

I like the interpretation of the concept, but did not find the appeal to this one.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

It's remind me about Binaryland(NES).
Platform generating logics can be improved. Sometimes I can't find next landable platform.

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

I LOVE the music. One major gameplay complaint I have is that I lose when I hit the end of the screen. The RIGHT end.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

Nice idea. Good job adding global highscores. Should maybe scroll left quicker?

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

I couldn't really figure out if I had to move to the right, the left or just stay in the middle. Well, I died when I left the screen, so I knew afterwards.
There's not much to the game, but what's there is ok.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08am

Such a simple concept but still very fun!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27am

Quite fun game, and the use of a leaderboard adds the replayability. Did have issues with impossible jumps but overall really enjoyed it.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33am

Good concept , but I would like if it's bit faster I got bored waiting for platforms :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I liked it, but must be fixed. My experience in firefox: when starting, text don't dissapear, trails from jumping and there are platforms that do not move.
Perhaps white cube in black world could have y axis inverted? jumping downwards...just an idea.
Hope to play it when it is in a further stage. Good luck.

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Very fun, just think that the idea of having to refresh the browser in order to restart is very foolish.
It also seems that the platforms can spawn in certain positions that would make it impossible to get past them, not sure how you are generating them but I recommend testing for extreme cases and then make sure they don't surpass those situations.
I guess an easy solution to eliminate most of these problems would be to make sure that if a platform spawned near the top then the next one should spawn below the middle, unlike now, where this scenario would be possible:
[black near top][black near top][black at bottom]
[white anywhere][white anywhere][white near top]
In this case, in order to jump to a black platform you would have to jump all the way to the third one, so when you landed there then you would be near the bottom already (because of the long distance) which means that if the white platform at that position was near the top then it would be game over.

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I had no probs in Firefox. I like your game! If you want to continue the work, it should be more dynamic. I'm talking about speed number and scale of the platforms. (Yeah I noticed that some platforms moved faster)! Good job

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Really innovative, the atari feel is a really nice touch. Definitely has a 'one more play' mechanic.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Glad to see another C2 user! The game really looks nice it got me there paying attention to get through the levels and time my jumps.

I noticed a few things though. One of them that even though your path is sometimes blocked by a platform you can just walk through it. Sometimes the platforms move and not stationary and the level scrolling is a bit slow (but for my mad skeels in dying I was glad it was slow).

Overall it was interesting and fun. Well done!

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I like how it looks, although the screen needs to go faster. At the current speed, all you need to keep going forever is some patience and luck. The mirrored jumping works well though and is fun to manurer with.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

This game's idea is close to mine too, what a coincidence haha. Nice job just try to not force the user to "reload" the browser to restart, it would be easier to put a button which reloads everything.

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Pretty fun, a bit larger "field of view" (I don't know if the term applies in 2D but I hope you get what I mean) would be good though.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Game is pretty primitive, yet fun.

"Photoshop (making squares)" got me ROFL

callume8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

the leader board has been hacked

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Cool concept and good implementation, but it'd be nice if there was variation introduced. Maybe the level starts moving faster, tiles with different behaviors, or enemies. (If there was this, it didn't happen before I died)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Like the jumping mechanics, but the game should be way faster. I found myself quitting out of boredom unfortunately :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Quite fun to play, a little frustrating sometimes. Good to have a leaderboard.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

A really great concept and quite fun, the impossible jumps are a little annoying though

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Loved the concept. Scoring seemed erratic though. Also, I think that when one of the dudes dies, then it should be game over. One of mine dropped down and I was left with only one other, game was easy then until I mis-jumped to a far platform xD

Overall great idea and the minimalistic graphics only add :)

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

The game moves a bit slow and sometimes the platforms spawn impossible jump situations. Otherwise really cool idea, the music was entertaining as well! Good job!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

Like the minimalist aesthetic.

It would be nice if it got faster and faster. I stayed alive a while, but it didn't seem to speed up?

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

No, you need to re-add the restart button, you can't expect the player to refresh then click play every time.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

A little buggy and unpolished, but the idea is cool!

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

i need it fasterrrrrr

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:57am

Love the retro feel. Great gameplay. Nice job.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:06am

A bit buggy as the random generator did not take into account whether the jumps were doable. Nice concept but execution could improve. Good effort!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Solid entry, something off about the jumping and I feel like it should end when one of the two falls off...

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:53am

Great idea, cool game. Good job!

nonetheless says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

If you fix the issues mentioned before - slow speed, impossible spawns, etc., it can be really fun game. Nice job :)

Patacorow says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:10am

Some platforms were impossible to reach, but overall a very nice entry. Great work!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Pretty good game. I just wish it was faster, or sped up over time.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice gameplay although the idea is a bit overused

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]