Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ignis

by Fanatrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!NOTICE!
If your browser prevents download in terms of it being malicious it's a false positive. Second, zipped link should work with no problems. Scan the file before running to make sure I'm not pulling your finger.

WASD - Movement
Mouse click - Fire

Ignis is a 2D platformer with similar setup like Super Meat Boy, Boyshi and others that share the same "short levels - one life" gameplay.

There's a twist to why it fits the theme. Character's perception is off, and the player must find the truth in a huge-ass mirror below him. Worlds connected by reflection, per se. Your character has the ability to conjure fire, which helps in dark areas and lets you destroy moving enemies.

The game itself is really difficult, however there are 2 different modes, Medium and Heroic. Don't get discouraged if you die a lot. I spent almost 48 hours on it yet I barely finished the last level. But I'm no "pro-gamer".

The game is using Shader Model 3.0 GLSL shaders, machines with outdated GPU cards will either run into problems or feature crashes. I simply couldn't test this out more in such a short timeframe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#140Graphics3.88
#179Theme3.76
#363Overall3.40
#552Innovation3.16
#564Mood2.98
#578Fun3.02
#581Humor2.28
#674Audio2.48

Comments

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Getting a malware warning (not the 'uncommon download' one) on this one in Chrome.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

I am as well.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

It's a .zip file containing an .exe and a .dll. It's a false positive. Go to settings -> advanced -> privacy and disable malware/phishing protection. I'll upload a sandboxed version...

geekygenius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

Yeaa.. I didn't get very far. Very cool concept.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

If sandboxed doesn't help maybe check this out:
http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=614454

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52am

Also didn't get very far but awesome reflection effect.

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

This game is hard! I like the graphical style.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

This is harder than I am able to do. But I appreciate the impressive production values.

I think the real difficulty is that trying to watch 2 things, one of which contains more threats and is obscured is pretty much the opposite of what human beings are designed to do. Multitasking is hard.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

The menu is amazing! :)

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32am

Looks great! Super tough game, but really fun. I kept trying until I could progress.

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

Everything looks and sounds great! It's pretty challenging though!

CogComp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Difficult was the right word :-) Some tweaking of jump mechanics might help. But otherwise a great production! Congrats!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

It's great to hear you guys didn't give up! I was scared people would label it as too hard and just quit early, but luckily that's not the case :D

I highly appreciate all the feedback!

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Awesome graphics, nice effects on water but it's really hard to check the both at the same time, it's really hard !

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Yeah it's hard, but mostly due to the controls. They feel kinda stiff, making it difficult to maneuver. Awesome graphics. The title screen made me wow.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

A really fun game with a nice visual style. It is horribly hard, though. I didn't even try heroic o_O and couldn't get past level 1. And I really would love to see more than just the beginning. Apart from that it's a really cool and polished game. I like it, a lot.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Great game, best menu screen I've seen so far :)

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Thanks. I understand the game can be really difficult. I personally completed every level before releasing it. Obviously programming and heavy-testing the game myself I grew accustomed to the mechanics, but that also means everyone else is capable of beating the game as well :D

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02am

Game was hard. I tried the start of each of the normal levels and tried to get as I could but it wasn't happening. So, I resigned to staring at the main menu for a couple minutes, it's mesmerizing (not to mention the amazing reflection effect). A+ for the menu alone. That broccoli makes me smile real hard.

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

I really like the concept. This game slaughtered me though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

It was pretty hard and the controls were a little tough, but I loved the idea of the game and the reflection affect on the water was really cool :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Man, that Gif at the title screen and in your post got me all excited for a different sort of game... I want to play a flight sim like that.

The "real world in a reflection" thing is a clever take on the theme (and another beautiful graphical effect), and made for a challenging platformer. It's a little frustrating, but It feels like that sort of platformer. Good work on your entry!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48am

Well done for achieving your work. On one hand the game looks nice with its pixel arts and overall design, plus the theme is pretty well respected. On the other hand the water reflect + the huge size of pixels + the cruelty of level design just make it no fun for me. I like runner/plate-former but this one is too much pain!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11am

I definitely know what you're saying about the cruelty of the level design! I tested them so much myself till the point where they started being easy. Just play testing this one took an enormous chunk of dev time, but it was time well spent indeed.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

Gosh, this really *is* hard. The fact that controls are WSAD doesn't help. >.< These are very nice effects here indeed, though (I didn't know why the title is "Ignis" until I tried out the heroic...). Still, I completed only the first level and it left me pretty exhausted; might have something to do with the fact that levels are long, which makes it more tiring than e.g. Meat-Boy ones.

(also, aside from typical developer bonus you already knew the arrangement of elements, which probably reduced the difficulty of discovering levels for you; not telling the game is impossible, rather that you had even more developer advantage than usual ^^")

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

The effects are rather nice, especially the fire and reflections. I have yet to beat it due to the difficulty. I spent the whole time staring at the reflected world, as it seems like nothing in the above world actually mattered.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13pm

@KevinZuhn:
Moving enemies (spiked balls) can be killed with fire with mouse buttons. In later levels killing them becomes simpler than evading them.

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

well done on the reflection mechanic!

Criminon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Looks good. Interesting concept! I would say its definitely unique. Very hard to play, but still fun. I would say my main gripe is the jump physics, and jump being on the up button instead of space. Other than that, solid work.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

The game is hard but I like the idea. Nice effect on start screen.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Lovely art style, great shimmer effect for the water. Too difficult though... I couldn't get past the first bridge (since I kept falling through it for some reason?)

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

^ You didn't read the info, that's the whole point of the "Connected Worlds" theme. The world is different in the reflection.

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:44am

The graphics are really juicy. I love the reflection in the water so much!

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Absolutely loved this game movement was kinda weird but still one of the most fun Ive played yet really like the theme that was awesome dude id ide gave you 5 stars if there was more sound

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:09pm

The reflection effect is awesome! Good work with the concept.

GFM says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice work with those shaders! :)

But controls could have used some more work... It's quite imprecise. Instead of instantaneously getting to the maximum velocity, you should (imo) have made it accelerate to its max speed. This way, movement would be smoother and more controlable.

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:26pm

The movement is too precise. You press the key the character moves, you release it he stops. Problem is, he's moving too fast horizontally which makes it hard to aim platforms. If the movement wasn't this precise the game would've been even harder.

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:09am

Really love the reflection, but couldn't get anywhere to experience what it does. WASD is bad for me as a right hander. Sure I can use WASD, but you require more precision than I could give. I couldn't even get across the first bridge. I know what has to be done, just couldn't finese the jumps with my left hand. Love the opening screen.

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Pretty much spending 5 seconds in any of the levels lets you experience what reflection does. In fact you can't complete the very first jump of the first level without using the reflection......

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I liked the concept, although the game was too difficult for me. The graphics are done very good.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Difficult game, but well made. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]