Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Effraction

by dancingmad - Jam Entry

Effraction is a stealth game where you play as a mysterious hacker as she tries to unravel the dirty secrets of the mega-corpo Alpha Zero.

Use the arrow keys to move, and hold shift to run. Be careful though, running is noisy!
Press space to look for devices to hack.
- If any device is in range, use TAB, Left Arrow or Right Arrow to select the one you want to hack.
- Press enter to enter the virtual world!

In the virtual world, avoid projectile using the arrow keys, and dash through ICE walls using the space key.

You goal is to find the elevators, to go further and further up in this tower of secrets.

Good luck!

------ INSTALLATION

If the game doesn't run, you have to install XNA 4.0 Redist included in the package.

------ TEAM

programming : Martin Bousquet
character design : Pascal Pouvereau
environment design : Stephen Bornet
level design : Sebastien Gatty
sfx & music composer : Remi Papillie

------ MISC

We used the following tools:
- Visual Studio
- Photoshop
- Graphics Gale
- SVN
- Tiled editor
- XNA 4.0

source code & assets included!

Follow me on twitter @bousquetm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#221Mood(Jam)3.39
#254Graphics(Jam)3.69
#268Fun(Jam)3.24
#273Overall(Jam)3.38
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#413Humor(Jam)2.35
#562Theme(Jam)2.71

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:36am

Great game, I enjoyed playing but it does not seem very clear ... missed a tutorial or something.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21am

That room with the 2 patrolling guards was to much for me :) Really like that the doors stay open after death so you can open op shortcuts. Also really like the art and music (that little piano motif)

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice game, loved those 2d Graphics, also the player movement was very fun and the hacking part also :D!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Pretty interesting, looked nice. Hacking felt like a different game though, and the lack of failure penalty made it very unexciting. A lot of the time you could just avoid the robots but then you'll get seen by one wrong and die. Wasn't very clear what was going on for a while. The graphics are great though, and the sound is pretty good.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Aha you mixed up Watch Dog, Ultimate Assassin and Shoot'em up elements! Kind of insane but the overall realization is nice, especially for 3 days of work.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:31am

great job, the hacking mechanic was pretty unique :)

JALgames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

The hacking is a very nice idea (no, it's not inspired by Watch_dogs...) and thanks a lot for providing the details on the error in my game. I now have got a version which supports all machines up, so if you like, you can play my game now

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice work

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:05pm

This is probably the best stealth game I've seen made during Ludum Dare before. I think the enemies are a bit too forgiving, though, and didn't really feel much of a punishment for getting caught.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

If the enemies were a little bit more hostile this would have been even more intense. Well made and I dig the music.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Wow. Just wow. The way you integrate cyberspace in a cyberpunk-themed game is elegant, simple and so freaking cool.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Nice game :D
The hacking minigame gets a little boring after some time, but it is completely fine for a jam entry.
Unfortunately I could not get to the elevators because the game crashed :X
If you can point me to where the crash log is generated, if there is one, I can upload it for you.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Thanks for the review :)

Unfortunately, there is no log file, but i'm working on fixing the issue, maybe i'll upload a new version later.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:57am

Sweet little stealth game. Once I managed to get through a hacking level it felt pretty rewarding :)

crazyrems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03am

I didn't figure the connection between the worlds. Anyway nice realisation.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great game with great graphics :) Well done

barleyarley says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Very polished and definitely has promise. There doesn't seem to be any consequence to messing up at the moment and the hacking game is maybe a little simplistic (I can see it getting tiresome quite quickly), other than that though great job!

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Brilliant game, love the graphics, the way the character moves is so satisfying, and the animations they do are top notch. The stealt element is fun, the running around, sneaking and dodging robots all great.

Only criticism I have is the hacking gets repetitive after a while and is really easy when you realise the mechanics behind it all.

Great game though, best played so far, well done!

teamawesome says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Best game I've seen so far, I'd say. Hacking mechanism got a bit repetitive, and the character sometimes glued himself to a wall at inopportune moments, but a fine entry. I guess the theme connection is the cyber world versus the real?

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:32pm

First I found the hack game a bit cheap but after many tries I finally got hooked to the game. There's a very good rythm in this entry, congrats !

WebFreak001 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very nice game! It was awesome. But where is the theme? Also it crashed when Ive got in a chamber that was protected with 2 unlocked doors. Also you told me you couldn't run my game. Have you installed at least .NET Framework 4.5?

Knowledge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:29pm

It's cool, but when I finished level I get message that Windows must end program. Please fix it.

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:18pm

very entertaining awesome gameplay.

Digiraze says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Cool game.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Really awesome submission :)!
Would have been nice if the hacking was a bit more varied, but really for the time you all had this was absolutely brilliant, the style and sounds all really complemented the experience perfectly. Loved the little things like outlines left where your character died previously.
Congratulations to all of you on this, well done :).

silentlamb says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:19pm

The game gets too easy and repetitive when you find out how to hack things. Audio is really good as well as visuals. I wish it were a bit more complicated, but still I enjoyed playing it, good job!

mechabit says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:51am

nice graphics, I feel the cyber world-real world link could have been stronger, hacking could also have been more interesting. good stealth entry

H1S2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

cool game!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:31pm

@WebFreak001 yeah i just had to install the framework and your game worked nice!

jesterswilde says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Hey, your game looked and felt pretty good. The mood and audio were great (I am biased as I love me some cyberpunk.) Definitely had a Gibson or Shadowrun vibe.

I get seen way too much though.

Also, thanks for leaving a review on our page.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Solid concept

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:05pm

There's some really good mechanics in here, and the gameplay is pretty fluid, but it's a tad bit confusing. I'm not usually into tutorials, but I'd definitely like some kind of guidance here. It's still a solid entry! Well done ;)

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Really solid stealth game for such a short time. Really felt a chill go down my spine when I saw the question mark over the patrolling robots for the first time. It did crash after reaching the elevator though. Some things that would improve the experience are:
- Sight-cones stopping at solid objects (somewhat hard to implement, so no wonder it's not in).
- Better visuals for what you can use for cover (I thought the thing in the first room after the toilets was a pit :D).
- Don't spawn the obstacles directly in front of the player in the hacking minigame, that makes strafing way too effective ;).
- Some lore / items to collect while hacking around!
- The camera transition while wallhugging should be smooth, or maybe there shouldn't be a camera transition there at all.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Solid entry. Very nice music and art. Like others have said above I think some sort of really simple tutorial level would have helped a lot. It's hard to go from a readme.txt file into the game and understand it all. I would continue to work on and polish this though, as I think you have a lot of potential, and very very well done for a Jam entry.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I feel lik ei was missing something that kept me from progressing very far, but otherwise I thought it was put together well. Love the audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]