Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intranet

by bluemaroo3 - Jam Entry

A game made by bluemaroo3 & leanlankylazy.

Good morning #163 this is your 6am wake up call.

With thanks to Glorious Trainwrecks http://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/ for the use of macros.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#36Mood(Jam)4.02
#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#127Innovation(Jam)3.56
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#306Fun(Jam)3.17
#514Humor(Jam)2.07
#657Audio(Jam)1.47
#760Graphics(Jam)1.80

Comments

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Interesting and well written dialogue system.
Was a nice experience!

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I really enjoyed it. Finished it a first time, might try a second one to know other possible stories.
Well written and good answer to the theme! I like how the narration is constrcuted using files sent by the interlocutor

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Wow! Fantastic story! Made me sweat! If you were to change anything I'd add something to make it clearer when the player is meant to select a single dialogue rather than wait for a response, since that was the only bit that was slightly confusing. Didn't affect the story though, which had some brilliant ideas and makes the player feel like the decisions are really important!

Brilliant job, one of my favourites so far!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I chose the dark path. :( Awesome game!

jggiles says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

I really like the long pauses in the dialogue delivery. I also like that the Player is the one in the know as opposed to being disoriented amnesiac than can't tie their own shoes.

The sparse text aesthetic is also very cohesive with the narrative and helps give a very strong sense of unity.

This is a great game that stands up on its own even without cutting any slack for being made under the constraints of a Game Jam. Nice job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Awesome to see a Twine game in the jam. Great story!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This was well-put together. No to spoil the story, but the choices you had to make were effective.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Very good Twine game. Well written and the choices actually feel like they make a difference. I have to play more to see it all! :)

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Very compelling story. Matches the theme very well.

cdf121 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:58pm

A very Interesting Idea using the twine engine. I actually really enjoyed it. And the writing wasn't a bore.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Wow. Amazing concept. That said, the format was a little awkward. Seeing this as a video would have been more interest IMO.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I really enjoyed the story until the end. I also liked how the text was being displayed and the pauses in every page. Good work!!

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Gripping story. Really nice use of timers to set the pacing and an interesting take on the theme. All-in-all, a high scorer.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Good story! I like the little details like if you play it through different paths using different names each time, some texts that placed your name in a previous playthrough, later appear as "redacted" making you feel more part of the story.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:05am

really nice.
The Dialog was enjoyable to read and was a nice experience.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I started playing the game not expecting much... but got hooked into it. Very well written. Very nice story.

I don't have any ideas for improvements: I think this worked just as it should. Maybe only thing was that my dialogue was shown in blue and also options were blue -- sometimes I ended up waiting & then realizing I can select something.

(btw I chose the light path)

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

It is kinda emotional and I really like it, chose to join on the end... is that good? :D

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

The site kept crashing Chrome so I did not give it a second playthrough but I liked the experience. The delay between text delivery was a nice touch but I would have prefered it to be a bit shorter.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Simple yet nicely done :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

Interesting game, and good writing.
got sucked into this.

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Well that left me feeling vaguely disturbed, a good thing IMO. Great job, the method of revealing the story bit by bit gave me just enough to keep me interested. Really excellent job!

mess110 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I got hooked

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I had fun, but the end was a little sudden.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

So many options.. making me have to go back and choose them all... such text and storyline.. full of suspense. Here... cookies to you, sir.

Sascha says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Great entry! I really really enjoyed the plot and setting of the story. At first the slow appearance of the dialogue messages annoyed me, but after a bit they really helped draw me into the mood of the story.

I liked a lot of ideas you used (the programs, the tangibility of thoughts for Maya) and the metaphors and pictorial writing.
I would have -loved- to see two or three more dialogue (monologue?) scenes after the successful ending!

An amazing entry. Thanks for the story!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very thought-provoking, minimalist story. Loved the simplistic dialogue, loved the whole "computerized" theme the story had going along with it. Quite an uncomfortable amount of spelling or grammar errors, however, and, while those are actually important in a text-based game (for immersion purposes), you did do this in a weekend, after all.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Very absorbing and well written narrative, I love it!
Great job especially in depicting the character's emotions and I had no trouble imagining myself making part of the story which made me feel even more closely what was happening. Great work!

alangamebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:03am

Man, that was really awesome. Sucked me right in. Great job.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Neat story! Just as a nitpick, I'd suggest better differentiating the things you've said and the things you can click on. Different colors maybe.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very interesting take on the theme and a good story. I only think the text presentation was kinda slow. Congrats!

panurge says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:36pm

A very enjoyable and thought-provoking experience. Atmospheric and tightly written. I'm going back to try some different options now... (I couldn't bear to delete so I integrated, by the way - it was a really challenging and interesting decision to make.)

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:19pm

The integration of the player's name into the story is a simple but effective touch. Love it!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:36pm

WTF was that. Great experience!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]