Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Operator

by Retl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are listed both in the launcher and in the game's levels. XInput compatible gamepads also work fine, though it's not mentioned in the readme or in the game.

Update 1: Updated the Linux build link with the correct file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Humor3.33
#607Audio2.63
#969Innovation2.55
#974Theme2.55
#994Fun2.50
#1029Graphics2.30
#1036Mood2.27
#1105Overall2.50
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Sverik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I might be mistaken, but it seems that the Linux link refers to a MacOS package.

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Control of the stuffed animal is rather difficult.

Retl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

@Sverik You're right! Sorry about that, I'll go get it fixed ASAP.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Aaalright, I've got absolutely no idea what is the relation between firefly thing and the stuffed toy, but apparently I've managed to win, so yay! ^^"
(also, the toy's movement mechanics were... interesting)

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Haha I actually liked the stuffed animal part. Like, unexpected, silly, cute way to move around!

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:31pm

@JackDegree I love all the spinning and flipping. <3 I almost wish I had made that the point of the game instead.

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

@Sunflower Yay for interestingness!

In my mind, the connection would be that the firefly thing would be in a digital world, and the blue character is in a more analogue world. And that the blue one could interact with computers and things to influence the digital realm, and the digital agent yellow thingy could activate devices or robots in the other's world.

Sadly, couldn't make a lot of gameplay to reflect that in time. and I got distracted by the other character's spinning and flipping.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

The stuffed part is so funny how he pretty much can jump on his back.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29pm

crancy game :) nice humor

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:32pm

To be honest, the fun here came from the "bugs" - when the stuffed bunny fell over and still jumped... :-)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Hi there. Strange game you made. Some of the physics gets stuck or upside down fairly easily. Can get stuck behind sliding block at top of first level for example.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:19pm

The idea is interesting, but the game is less fun to play because of bugs, especially with stuffed animal controls. When playing Web version, right click switches worlds, but also shows context menu. (Chrome)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Weird and simple but appealing game. However the stuffed animal section is rather difficult to control it right. Good effort!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:08pm

It's kind of funny how the stuffed animal moves around. The two worlds seem quite separate, and the issue I had was using right click to switch since that opens some Unity settings.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]