Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CATastrophe

by Roknsk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Feel the ultimate despair in CATastrophe!

- High stakes gameplay
- Psychedelic soundtrack
- Cats

My first time in Ludum Dare.

***
fixed score
fixed player copy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Humor2.86
#720Audio2.39
#806Graphics2.71
#1055Mood2.20
#1157Fun2.02
#1158Overall2.36
#1190Theme1.61
#1198Innovation1.68
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:22pm

When hitting the sides, I get thrown back into the center of the screen.. Is that correct?
Psychedelic soundtrack... I agree.!

Roknsk says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Well it was really easy to die when walls was deadly :)

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12am

If I had the chance to become a cat I wouldn't hesitate :)
One bug I noticed: when I died the first time, the player wasn't removed from the stage so there were two astronauts

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Somehow can't get the score higher than 800 (Web version). Nice game anyhow, reminded me of Gravity movie ;)

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06am

The score stops going up after it reaches 800... I guess that means I set the top score.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

New vision of falling down games.

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

hmm...I died a few times, but my old character did not disappear? or maybe because I kept pressing X because I didn't know what to do. Got a score of >3500, but several copies of me stayed in there

dkkarate says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

it was pretty fun but I didn't see what it had to do with the theme :/

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48am

Cool idea. Good job!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04am

I tried to get further to see if there was something to do with the Connected Worlds theme apart from the initial story text later on, but there was nothing. After a while the gameplay gets a little dull, maybe some pick-ups (coins etc..) could help make it more fun. Kittens were a nice touch though!

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Well, a bit too simple/easy/boring, and there seems to be no 'winning'. But I liked the theme lot, and the music was awesome :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Quite simple and easy. But that's cool.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice game :D A bit slow to get hard to play, but I became a kitten anyway Q_Q ahah nice work!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Pretty good for your first LD! Congrats on completing your game. I found the game too easy, personally. There weren't very many obstacles to avoid. Also, it would have been nice if the window were a bit bigger. I have a big monitor and the window the game played in was very small.

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

It was ok for a first try - good graphics and humor. Congratulations on having something finished! I hope next time you go for something a bit more ambitious, gameplay-wise.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

Walls are supposed to be deadly?

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16am

Cats! Yay!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:19am

I became a cat! Yay!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Not much of a challenge, but still a functional game. I just steered into a piece of the space station pretty quickly, becoming a kitten was just too tempting :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]