Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stock Exchange

by ded - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, my first LD game and my second game ever...
OK, connected worlds ... game about stock market that will be fun... not really, I wanted to make the items connected, so if one goes down some other should go up. In fact they all are linked like that but it doesn't work as expected.

The gameplay is really badly balanced and the code is messy.
But I like the graphs...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#176Innovation3.70
#460Graphics3.22
#464Fun3.14
#493Humor2.42
#523Overall3.24
#534Mood3.00
#848Audio2.11
#858Theme2.76

Comments

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25am

pretty cool game, and yes i like the graphs.

although would be good if you could buy more than 1 at a time cuz my finger is tired

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

very interesting, not sure how it connects with the theme

fauge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Not sure on how the theme relates but it was pretty fun and hard

ded says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

the connections with the theme is "the stocks connect the world", it should be like: if china goes down, usa goes up and these mechanics should be basics of the gameplay, but as I've written above, it doesn't work perfectly.

zeal says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

I've not been really good at these games where you deal with the stock market, ever. Yep, hard but still kinda cool.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:13am

Is the real life stock market this easy? Because damn I need to get me some stocks. :D
But seriously, its actually quite fun, I enjoyed it. :D

Aglavra says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:24am

I liked this game, especially how you need to control several parameters at the same time.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

interesting topic. Could add more twists to make it better.

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

Have to say that I wasn't any good at it, but the graphs are incredibly pretty. Neat interpretation of the theme too.

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

And now I'm reminded why I don't play the stock markets… That said, some more variety — even in visuals — would go a long way in making this more interesting, unless that's against the point.

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

interesting take on the theme but it could have been easier on the eyes with higher resolution and bigger buttons

BroCade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I brilliant interpretation of the theme. love it!
There is also something hypnotic about pixel graphs... i cant stop staring at them.

BroCade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

A brilliant interpretation of the theme. love it!
There is also something hypnotic about pixel graphs... i cant stop staring at them.

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

My finger hurts and money no longer fits onto the screen, I consider that a win.

As with the other suggestions, being able to buy in bulk would have been nicer.

vogon101 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice idea

Split82 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:02pm

It was quite easy :) But I like it and have fun playing it. Good job.

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I love these games, and the graphics makes it complete! But yeah, you're right, it's not easy.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:35am

Simple and fun. But it lacks depth and challenge! The graphs were great :p Well done!

Joona@MooseflyGames

dook says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very nice. Surprising how addictive it can be just to watch those curves :)

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Not bad, I had fun but didn't see the drugs n hookers options like in Wolf of Wall Street.

trekapp says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:38pm

NOW I WANNA BECOME A TRADER :)

cmayhem says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:36am

Surprisingly interesting. I like the graphics very much. It's missing little something to make it a really good one.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Really fun and innovative concept.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Interesting and cool take on the theme. And yes, I like the graphs too. I like the graphics overall, but there's something special with watching your $1 purchases soar to $110 in red pixels. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]