Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Keyboard Shootout

by brian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story:

You're a space scout. You need to explore different worlds to gather resources. To efficiently do this, you have to pass through wormholes. These wormholes randomly appear and only one traveler can pass through. Once someone entered, it will close and you have to wait for another one to open.

As a scout, you are bounded by the law regarding passage clearance to these wormholes. But beware! There are some who do not abide this law. It's also your job to capture them. Capturing space outlaws will increase your chance to these passages.


Game Mechanics:

Type in the words displayed on screen to shoot those outlaws. Complete each word before the bar below them runs out. Once these bars run out, they will have a chance to shoot you and that will cause you a health token. Loosing all your health tokens means the game is over.


Game Controls:

A-Z keys
Esc for toggling pause


--

powered by PhaserJS: http://phaser.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#464Fun3.14
#802Overall2.96
#813Graphics2.70
#978Innovation2.53
#1139Theme2.05
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

BluMist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great typing game. I had much fun typing away those crazy aliens. My only suggestion is to look at adding some sound. Well Done.

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

Fun. Minimalistic, great idea! If it had longer words, that would be nice.

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Fun typing game! More words would be nice.

brian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

Thanks guys! :)
I run out of time but yes, I'll be adding sounds, words and animations for this game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

I love typing game :D

xoxopanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Very fun, though the same words kept popping back up.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Not a lot of different words.
Pretty fun though. Could definitely use some sound.

I got 71 \o/

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Great game! I got 34 :D Only thing I would suggest is to add some music and SFX. Great Job! :D

Njord says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Funny idea :D

maloki says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Why 'Esc' to start? :P

More words would really be great. it was fun typing things out~! Only got to 69 though. hahaha!

Art sort of reminded me of old games where things were basically one color, except with different shades. :P All it needs is the bend at the edges, interlacing and the screen refresh. :P

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

A nice, simple typing game. Adding sound and perhaps more graphics would be nice, but for what it is it's good.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice approach on the theme. Good job!

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:43am

Nice typing game, I got 76. Like above said, some sfx would be nice.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Nice typing game!
Well done!

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:02am

I liked the concept, but also wished for more variation. Little sound cues would also helps. Good job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]