Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

God Bless My Spaceship

by Autonomous - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum Dare.

"The earth is doomed. You and your crewmates have only a few minutes to build your spaceship and take off to Mars."

This is a multiplayer(!) game, so you need stable internet connection. You can play with a friend by starting a game at the same time, or just play alone.

** We have fixed major bug some people were complaining about

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Humor(Jam)3.26
#203Fun(Jam)3.36
#210Graphics(Jam)3.82
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#480Theme(Jam)2.95
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Hi guys,

I tried this on my Google Nexus S, but I get a resolution textfield box and "fps" textbox superimposed on top of the screen when I try and run it. There's no way to get rid of it and touch the main game buttons undeneath. :( Music sounds good though. :]

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I get the same error :(

Skills641 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Can't play android.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13pm

This is just great. I'm definitely keeping this on my phone. All I can seem to gather of this game is that I attach random objects to my base until time runs out and pray that it makes it.

Won on first try.
Either the game is super easy, or I'm super lucky though.

Or maybe...
IT'S A MIRACLE!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Mine wouldn't play either :(

StMatn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Great game!
I really like the idea and the humor put in the parts :D I mean, who wouldnt atach bombs and tree logs to an emergency spaceship?
The controls were quite challenging. Especialy the abrupt turn on direction change.
Part placement could be improved a little, by preventing part overlapping.
Sorry for being pedantic, but is there a loose condition? After miraculously winning on the first atempt I left the game run on its own, while typing this comment and the sole basic chassis is currently at -1600% height ;)
All in all very cool idea and quite solid execution!

P.S.: Are the buttons area-specific? English text would have been better for this contest ;)
overlapping parts placement

Autonomous says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:58pm

We have fixed the bug DustyStylus experienced. Enjoy!

ShadowBrain says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Worked great on my Nexus 5, nice game, gameplay felt a bit slow though, probably due to the slow movement, and I ended up having to tap quite a bit, hoping the object I grabbed would fit on.
Also, I had no idea what most objects would do to my ship.
I had fun though, if the speed gets upgraded a bit and it's easier to place parts where you want them to be this game can definitely use a full release! :)

lasecun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Hi, i also develop my game for android. I use LibGdx but anyway, i like graphics and music.

Also the HUD with the controls.. it's something that it's very crap on my game :)

So.. Thx and good job for your firs LD !!

Binary Gambit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

not bad at all. Love your art. It runs pretty slow on a low end tablet.

SiMouth says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Love it!
Did I play with someone on my first game or wath it an AI ?

Autonomous says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

It was me who played with you. I saw you join the game, decided to show you around :)

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Would love to try this out. Needs a non-mobile version.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Worked well on Nexus 7(2012). Liked the humour but found it rather clumsy to control. Somehow the contraption I built actually took off. Made it all the better to see the gorgeous success screen stating 'it's a miracle'. Made me smile :-)

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]