Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abridged worlds

by littlerockplanet - Jam Entry

WASD to move
Space to liftoff
left click to shoot
E to interact/pickup

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#266Humor(Jam)2.69
#480Fun(Jam)2.86
#498Audio(Jam)2.74
#532Theme(Jam)2.79
#540Innovation(Jam)2.76
#559Mood(Jam)2.77
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#648Graphics(Jam)2.66

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Loved the physics! I know it's a simple space shooter, but seriously! I haven't relaxed and enjoyed a game this much in LD yet!

The soap bubbles were awesome :) Other graphics could be improved though, also enemies could be colored differently to not be confused with my own ship fire. It's quite annoying that there is no option to restart the game after dying. Sometimes I can even still continue playing after game over.

Other than that, I would love to play an improved version with more planets and more enemies, possibly of different kinds.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28am

a linux build, please?

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

The idea is nice, but the execution has a number of problems..

The controls would probably work better if they were relative to the camera (w always goes up) rather than relative to the character (w goes forward). After you die you can still fire? And it seems like you can't move backwards and fire at the same time, not sure if that's on purpose, but combined with the control style, it makes it trickier to evade and fight enemies who are coming too close if you didn't manage to kill them at a range.

After closed the page, Firefox' plugin container crashed, and that's probably not good.. Maybe it was just a coincidence, but it's never with any other Unity web player game.

Needs a way to restart too.

I liked that you're flying around in a boat in space though, and that you have soap bubbles coming out of it.

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

I liked the ship graphics, but the enemy ships were a bit hard to see sometimes. I think an easy change that would make the game a lot more playable is to add some kind of radar/minimap.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45am

very nice game, the flying parts were so epic :D especially the music and the bubbles

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49am

Sorry that there are a few bugs. game should restart. figuring out the bugs now and will upload the newer version

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24am

Physics is so lovely! Very simple game, but extremely enjoyable! Good job on this one.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29am

finished fixing bugs. restarting all should work now.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57am

Lovely music. the walking animation is funny. GJ.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27am

good job !

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:13am

Fun! Love the bubbles and the space 'ship' (and the font!) :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

very bizarre character design!

bob_fish says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:49am

This is pretty fun! Liked the sound and gameplay was good as well. The bubbles were good.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

Fun little game, enjoyed it! If I had to point out one thing that I didn't like it would be the controls, when I was on a planet I felt like the controls were becoming muddled up. It might have just been me, but due to the spherical based movement it really felt like it was going the wrong way at times, I'm not 100% sure though! Other than that, great sub!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Good job, fun game! Music was cool plus gameplay was fun but the controls seemed a little odd at first.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:21am

Hiya, the concept here was pretty cool, but why make W move forward relative to player rotation and not to the camera? (i.e, w moves up even if you're facing right).

I liked the overall aesthetic but think it needs a bit more variation. Pretty cool entry overall! Good job.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Really enjoyed running around on the planets and found the boat in space powered by bubbles particularly charming!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Funny graphics. Although not very clear what to do. The into should be skippable

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Getting little bunny space dudes to navigate global terrain ain't easy! :) Impressive work for a jam.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:15am

I think I recognize the font from somewhere... ;) First time I played the red things did a "what is love" on me XD Nice fun quirky game. May the force be with you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]