Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Homeworld Defender

by soyliquid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a Three-dimensional 360 degree shooter.
Shoot down incoming planets and defend your homeworld!

This game is made by Unity.
Source codes are published at here.
(https://bitbucket.org/soyliquid/ld30/overview)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Fun3.36
#379Overall3.38
#389Graphics3.36
#404Mood3.17
#554Audio2.72
#588Innovation3.12
#611Humor2.24
#903Theme2.68
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

Superb feeling when you play 3D game with graphics that belongs to the past millennium. Nice one!

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

The incoming planets start spawning like crazy once you shoot down 18 or so. You home planet ends up providing the cover that the other planets need to destroy your home over all a pretty depressing game if you really think about it.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

I really like the perspective you're firing from, everything seems quite immense. Really like the vector chiq as well, very 80s arcadey.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Nice models, you made this shader of wireframe or can you say how you made it ?

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Awesome game. Some sort of radar would have been nice but this is so far the most entertaining game I've tried during LD30.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice graphical style. I was freaking out at the end, the planets were coming in none-stop and it provoked a strong emotional response from me. But, the audio was a bit rough sounding and by the end I was fearing for the safety of my ears.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Score 14 and my world was destroy with a pretty explosion but i feel something is missing in the gameplay, nice realization.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

Cool graphics and funny FX. Well done ++

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Very cool!
I love the view and control

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very difficult game, couldn't get past 10. Solid effort!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:45am

Actually gets top-marks from me on graphics :) I really really liked the Elite-esque artwork.

The actual game was *hard* as the enemy planets spawned relentlessly and I kept getting zapped by a planet spawning behind me.

The laser pulse actually worked really well, and reminded me of my laser shots in LD24 entry.

Would a laser fired in space make a sound? :)

Crosstales says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Very nice game with goo concept! I also like the "Tempest"-like graphics!
Good job!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Love this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]