Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rift Device

by taviandir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as Garret, a bounty hunter who wanted to steal a top-secret prototype from the evil "Corporation". No one knows what it is, except that it is very valuable should one get a hold of it. So Garrett decides to steal it. This undertaking takes him on a journey he couldn't imagine beforehand - through realms and realities each unique in so many ways.

This project had many promises, but I failed to deliver on time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#346Humor2.69
#390Fun3.23
#394Overall3.36
#415Graphics3.31
#602Audio2.64
#619Mood2.90
#870Theme2.74
#883Innovation2.73

Comments

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13am

Fun! If you made more levels I'd totally play them!

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice game but it deserves more acknowldegement! Try rating other games.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Ow. Couldn't get it to run. Just after the Unity loading bar is started rapidly blinking black and white. Hopefully it's not supposed to do that? Closed it anyways.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Pretty good player animations, physics, and sounds. I found out about double-jumping pretty late. I wanted to play more levels.

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I have the same problem with a flickering black/white screen :(

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Hi there. Fun graphics and levels. I had trouble getting around.

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

@TD5, @jpverkamp: Huh that's weird. It's not a game feature, I guarantee you! :D
I tried multiple browsers and computers and haven't encountered this problem you two mention :(

@clyde, @modbox: Hehe thanks! :D I'm rating games now!
@mrexcessive: Thanks for the comment. What was your issue, exactly? :)

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Decent little game, had some fun shooting the enemies, controls were a little confusing at first (I clicked past enemies not on them)

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The first screen of the game was so neat, so I had pretty high expectations... I'd venture to guess you ran into some time constraints? :-) Congrats on your first entry!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare ^^

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Very fun game, nice idea, and the animations are pretty cool :D

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

pretty cool game.. love the arrows trajectory
managed to summon portal in wall and couldn't go further or resummon the portal

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Cool game. Too sad the only level was only black blocks and that the bow isn't pointing towards the mouse.

taviandir says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:03am

@WeaselZone: Thanks for playing! I realised that some mechanics weren't obvious too late :/ I will remember this for next time for sure :)
@kyyrma: Thanks! Yeah I had major time constraints hehe :'( There were so much I wanted to do with this game, but I didn't have enough time. I think I aimed a bit too high.
@43iscoding: Thank you! :D I had great fun!
@MyougaHiroshi: Thanks you very much, kind sir! :D
@dusho: Haha thanks. The arrows are buggy but they work most of the time... :D Yeah I wanted to raycast check the summoning location, but that was another victim of time constraints :(
@Macocco: Haha yeah I agree - it's a shame. I didn't manage my time well enough to make graphics for the real level :'( The bow part is something I should've prioritized :/

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Very nice :) Like the portal animation. Would have liked to be able to use w to jump.
A bunch of stars from me.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

Interesting concept that could definitely be expanded on.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]