Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ambassadors Of Ruin

by LostTrainDude - 48 Hour Compo Entry

AMBASSADORS OF RUIN
===================
You are the Ambassador of this planet.

Your duty is to raise the population
up to 3000 within 50 years.

To do so, give them what they ask for by trading
with other planets or by creating it

You can't create or buy something that your people hates.

TOWER CONTROLS
[W] up
[A] down
[E] use room
[H] show help
[ENTER] end year
[ESC] Quit

======================================
Developed with GameMaker: Studio (Standard Edition)
by LostTrainDude(@losttraindude)

The looping mp3 featured in the game was programmed algorithmically with a modified version of a little script I wrote a month ago in ChucK language (more or less explained here: http://www.gamedevelopers.ie/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7489). It's very simple and it's included in the source.
(http://chuck.cs.princeton.edu)

All graphics are made with Hexels Pro
(http://hexraystudios.com/hexels/)

Font used: Forced Square
(http://www.dafont.com/forced-square.font)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#350Mood3.24
#367Audio3.03
#468Graphics3.21
#595Theme3.21
#677Innovation3.00
#751Overall3.00
#776Humor2.00
#1003Fun2.49

Comments

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Well, I miss some economy variations. The game is infinite, sell price is the same as factory price. Overall not so bad idea.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Unfortunately there were meant to be variations. I was not able to implement them in time, I was destroying more than I was creating so I stepped back.

Some ideas I had (which may be pretty messy, btw):

- If you produce something that other planets hates, they are charging you more (and\or giving you less if you sell to them) if you buy something from them for the next turn.

- Each turn the "global market" reboots and if a product IS available in one of the planets, then it's PRODUCTION cost is higher.

Thanks a million for your feedback!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I had a hard time figuring out the controls at first. (For some reason I thought the A looked like an R which confused me) But after I had them figured out it felt quite smooth. The only complaint is that I think you can do away with the E press to enter the menu, it's just another key press and I can't see that it's needed.

I really liked the music, it was quite moody!

I didn't really figure out how I would make any money? I would just buy things that the other planets needed and sell it to them. But I wouldn't really make any profit as far as I could tell.

Also after starting the game I right away forgot that the goal was to get 3000 population. Maybe the instructions in game as well? or just Population: x/3000

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

@Jesper Oskarsson:

The last thing you pointed out was really interesting for me to read! I should have thought it before but I was not able to do much playtesting.

Basically to win the game you have to bring the population up to 3000, no matter how much money you make, which only helps to buy\create the stuff your citizens need. It's not a game about "greed" (but I should have let the players to be like that, if they want). I should really point this out :)

Thanks a million for your feedback!

P.S.: I'm going to ask LD staff if I can add the population goal in the GUI!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Got a little lost in the beggining but liked once I got, just one tip, try to export for web next time, probably more people will play your game then.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Unfortunately the free version of GameMaker: Studio (Standard) hasn't the HTML5 export included... As far as I found out... :\

Thanks for your feedback!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Would love to see this worked on more, very interesting game, really good idea and use of theme. I like how the goods are broken down into Need have and hate. I might have to steal this idea if I do more work on my own entry :) Great to see so many nice scifi sim/strategy games being made for this LD. Like the use of algorithmic music too!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

I like this type of games, this was pretty fun :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Interesting concept. Not enough variation to keep it interesting for that long.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice Idea, cool graphics... there is a good potential at this... maybe you can do a post dare version of it :)

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Love the graphics, really sets a nice and dark-ish mood.

The gameplay could do, as others have already stated, with some variation in price as well as demand and supply.

All in all, pretty cool!

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Good game, I think with some economic variation and maybe another foreign world or two, it could be an interesting challenge.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Very moody graphics and audio, but I couldn't figure out any way to win! Just needs some mechanic to make money out of trading.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47pm

You've managed to create a very interesting solemn vibe to your game with the music (software-generated! impressive!) and graphics.
Moreover the core idea of balancing between outer-trade and production is good and has a lot of potential.

This game isn't complete though, as the economy doesn't exist yet. Might have been better to drop a feature or two and spend time on creating a solid gameplay or even a basic prototype of one.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Thanks a lot everybody for your feedback!

Unfortunately I don't think I can fix anything right now, mostly because it could be more like adding the features I was not able to implement in time (as I stated in a previous comment), than fixing.

Now that there's no actual deadline I'm willing to release a post-dare version that can make the game feature all (or at least some) of the ideas I had when I began developing it! :D

c023-dev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Good concept, nice choice of sound, pretty colors and forms. Sweet lil game... scores pretty high on my list! Maybe some more feedback to the actions you take (for production and transmition etc). Anyway good solid job! Congratulations!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Kind of confusing, difficult to get an overview of what I'm doing or what I just did since all the menus and lists are the same white text just lined up.

I think the background is beautiful though, and the music is very moody (a good thing in this case). Not a bad start!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56am

Proimising foundation, but it feels like it needs something to raise the pace. Maybe changing it so that the years increment automatically instead of manually.

I quite enjoyed the trading process though, but it was very easy, since you had all the time that you wanted.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36pm

It's ambitious. Even if it's not refined it's worths a try. Good athmosphere.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Once I got hang of the controls I got into this.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I tried to make money from buying and selling but I couldn't pull it off. It is a nice concept though. Flesh it out with some more gameplay mechanics and it should become more enjoyable. Great work though! nice implementation of the theme!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I like the mood of the game and the soundtrack.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:21am

Awesome innovation! Very original, good job!

Cash says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:15pm

It's a great game with fantastic mood, too bad you didn't have time to add some variations

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]