Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Worlds

by Lord Draficus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is a very basic game, lacking music and sound effects, but I had a blast developing it.

The objective of the game was to have two overlapping worlds be connected by something that everyone had, allowing anyone to switch between the two. It was supposed to be a puzzle platformer, but I think it turned out more of just a platformer.

Anyways, enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#578Theme3.23
#641Humor2.20
#870Fun2.68
#883Innovation2.73
#912Overall2.83
#944Mood2.50
#1002Graphics2.35
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02am

Fun! It's nice you had time to do a separate tutorial :D

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Thanks! The tutorials were actually the first gameplay I made... I wanted people to understand the controls (even though many are intuitive).

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11am

Nice, you should put a skybox or something because the background is very ugly and it's hard to understand where things are when you have a platform alone

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Very interesting (though a bit buggy, at first controls didn't work, maybe it's Unity's bug; Linux64).

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Thanks for making a Linux build. So many people who use Unity just don't for some reason

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15pm

It works for what it is, a simple platformer. But that's all there is to it. Also a few more colors would be good in my opinion.

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53am

@Inateno - The background was like that because I am terrible when it comes to artwork, so I thought I'd try that. With the platform alone, are you referring to how it becomes difficult to see when the background changes just enough to where the transparent platforms become pretty much invisible?

@fcpfoof - It may be a bug for Linux, as it worked perfectly on my machine (Windows 8.1, 64-bit). Though, it also may very well be a bug in my code (I'm not sure, I can run a Live CD (Ubuntu 14.04, 64-bit) to see how it works for me).

@xgeovanni - I just wanted the most people to be able to play my game.

@Macocco - I had wanted to add more, I just ran out of time...

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice game, was a bit hard to see platforms sometimes.

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

@Rage Paint - Thanks! Yeah, the changing colors of the background make it difficult sometimes...

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

loved the original theme keep up the good LD work The tutorial was an amazing idea im totally gonna rip it off. haha just kidding

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:16am

I like the concept, and it is indeed an enjoyable game. My only problem is that 90% of the time I could only move and play the game if the pause menu was open, as having it closed would actually pause the game.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:19am

Great graphics and great innovation. Good job!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:08am

Solid effort and good take on the theme.

Lord Draficus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:58pm

@fcpfoof & @ShadowStryker - The not being able to move without the pause menu open should be fixed now. I have updated the download links with the updated files.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]