Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

LD30 God Game

by Khaibit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry EVER! Sorry about the code organization and lack of comments! It was kind of hectic around here and my time was limited (27 hours). It kind of just fell into place how it is (Which is not my usual!) Good luck, everyone!

Link leads to the download website. Please give it a try and leave feedback! Thank you!

UPDATE: Added a PLUS Edition that has some gameplay elements sped up. Every 30 seconds you can get a new tribe member. Every 6 seconds Faith rises and Health lowers.

NOTE: The PLUS Edition is just to speed things up for some players that need it. It is NOT the original Ludum Dare entry, and is to only be used to increase interactivity with the game. The Original Edition is still set to the original scheme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#598Graphics3.04
#721Humor2.11
#741Innovation2.91
#829Mood2.67
#868Overall2.89
#914Audio1.85
#1001Theme2.48
#1108Fun2.22

Comments

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36am

IT WILL work for any time zone, but only corresponds to EST. Sorry guys! If there is enough interest I will add more timezones for immersion-sake! :)

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30am

Pretty cool! Kind of tough to stick with playing a game that unfolds in real time, though, especially if there's not all that much to do in the first place.

Maybe you could add a link to a "Plus" version that lets you skip ahead in time if you want to play with the morning/evening transitions and stuff?

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33am

I dig it!

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

Oh, just a heads up, opening the game at different times of the day starts at THAT time of day. To experience the whole Day/Night system doesn't require playing for 24 hours straight, and all that haplens is a change in scenery :) Play at different times for different presentations! :D

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

@micahcowan: I like the idea of a PLUS edition though and will have to do just that with the feature requested :)

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

Also, system clock affects in game time, so you CAN view it all in a matter of minutes :) EST Based: 5am-7am = Morning Transition, 7am-5pm = Daylight, 5pm-7pm = Night Transition, 7pm-5am = Nighttime. Thanks to whoever plays and rates! Feedback appreciated!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

Graphics are pretty nice. I would suggest considering an instruction page or something. Cool entry nonetheless!

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

@sharpcoder: Instructions are in the README.txt file :) Thank you for trying my submission!

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24am

An interesting idea :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

Nice game.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

A cool little game :) Like a 48 hour godus!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

I like these slow expanding world/population kind of games. Although it wouldn't hurt with a few more things for the player to do. Maybe some direct interaction with the people would make things a bit more interesting =)

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34am

I wish there was more interaction with a game. But it looks really nice :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

Nice style and an interesting use of the theme. But that means limited interaction.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

So.. basically you're supposed to run this in the background and have a look every now and then? And I guess the blue bar in the top left corner depicts the level of faith of my people?

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

@ShellfishGames: Not at all! Just open it up at different times of the day :) It is based on system clock, so whenever you open it, it will reflect that time (Though to EST standard right now). You can also just adjust your system clock to see it all :) Thanks for playing!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

So if I close the game now and open it again in two hours, there might be more villagers?

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

@ShellFishGames: Oh, no. I thought you meant about the background and such. Every 5 minutes you have a chance to acquire another villager (25% chance), Best case scenario you could get 12 villagers in an hour, coupled with the "Cross Sword, Comet, Cross Sword" combo, and you multiply Faith increase by 4. Faith increase * Total Population = Faith gain per 5 minutes. I may just add a "PLUS" version as someone requested above that will speed up the tick timer on that stuff and allow adjusting the TimeZone.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Interesting concept, maybe a speed up time button?

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

@Jellycakes: Would you be interested in a "Plus" edition that just has things sped up to minimize waiting periods? :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Good little game ;) Not really much to do, but the idea with realtime day and night is quite interesting. Looks like there is no progress saving though :(

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

@ice cold muffin: Sorry :( It was on the to do list, but it was my first LD entry ever. I did not want to mess about with the submission process as I was unsure how it all worked. I had a half hour that could have added a saving system, but I was unsure how long it would take to upload and stuff like that (And seeing a guy in IRC screaming, "It won't export in time!" spooked me into jumping the gun by 30 minutes xD Thank you for trying my game! :)

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Cool idea. My lack of attention span got the better of me but still, I enjoyed it. Great work

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

i really like the idea of the time being linked with real time but maybe the game play could be sped up some how to give people more to do

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Interesting premise, but I don't want to sit around all day waiting for a virtual village to grow. Perhaps it would work better if you could close the game and visit it later, or as a website.

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

@laremere: Fair enough, I am looking into making a PLUS Edition with the things like sped up Faith/Health change, sped up random events, saving system allowing resumption of game, more time zones, etc. :)

@Donutttt, @alycarter, @laremere: Thank you all for trying my game :)

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Seems like it might be interesting, but I didn't see anything happening, and no people spawned :(. I agree, some kind of sped up timer or way to know whats going on would help.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

It's very pretty, especially at night. However, I can't really rate this very highly due to the lack of meaningful interaction. I can appreciate the incorporation of the theme, though. It took me a bit to figure it out, but then it clicked.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

I think it plays a bit slow for now, but it has very good potential! The screenshot attracted me, I like the style you're going for.

Tomker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05am

Great idea with day/night system, like this graphics too.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

I really like the graphics!

sez says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nice game. I like the concept But I think it takes too long :)

Khaibit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

@uvwar: Thank you for the feedback! I will continue looking in to a PLUS version with sped up timers.

@C_Walden: Sped up time would give more meaning to the interactions :) You would be trying to keep your people alive! Haha. Looking into this currently, seeing if I am allowed to do such a thing without DQ'ing myself.

@MerlijnVH: Thanks a lot! :) And yes, it seems the play speed is the biggest concern people have at the moment. I am looking into a fix without getting DQ'ed from the competition. It is a rather simple fix. I could also speed up the day/night cycle if that would make people happy? :)

@Tomker: Thanks a lot! Glad you enjoyed it. :D

@imdigitaljim: Thank you for trying my game and the positive feedback! :)

@sez: Looking into fixing the timer thing. If I can do it without DQ'ing myself, I will have it up the second I know I am allowed to :) Then I need to figure out the process with itch.io for adding it (Maybe just release it as a separate PLUS edition, as someone requested earlier).

@Everyone: Thank you for trying my game and leaving feedback! Does anyone know the rules on releasing another version of the game side-by-side with the original? Does that disqualify me from the competition or am I safe to do that? Thanks!

Khaibit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:51am

UPDATE: Added a PLUS Edition that has some gameplay elements sped up. Not so fast that it is game breaking, but fast enough to be noticed! Every 30 seconds you can get a new tribe member. Every 6 seconds Faith rises and Health lowers.

Khaibit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56am

NOTE: PLUS Edition is NOT the original Ludum Dare entry. It is for those that want a bit more interaction with the game! :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Great fun, good game

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

interesting concept, not sure where the theme link is. Would be a fun little toy to check in on once a day if it were persistent, see what your little villagers are getting up to, maybe they built a monument to you one day and then had a war and died another day.

Khaibit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

@MechanicMoon: Thankyou!

@mechabit: The theme link is both "God world connected to Human world" and "Game time connected to Real Life time".

@Both: Thank you both for playing and giving feedback! :)

Khaibit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

@mechabit: Funny enough, those were planned to be added to the game, amongst other things. :) If there is interest in this game I would be glad to extend it and make it more fully featured in the future!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Would love to see this fully fleshed. It got potential. Nice job

Khaibit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

@Otrora: It is in the planning! :) Thank you for the feedback! Feel free to request features :)

@All: Feel free to request features for a more fully fleshed out version of this game! :) Thank you for trying out my game!

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

Clever idea of playing a game in real-time! Would love to see this expanded, maybe it would be a good fit for mobile?

Khaibit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:41pm

@varun: There are plans! :) Mobile seemed most likely at first, but I think I know a method that will work on all platforms :D I also have a ton of things I intend to add to it, so I am making a list. Mobile definitely is a platform that is in mind though. Thank you for trying my game and thank you for the feedback! It is greatly appreciated.

@All: I am surprised by the quantity of actual constructive feedback/criticism. It will definitely help the future of this game. You guys rock! :)

H1S2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:08pm

nice game, a little more action would be cool!

Khaibit says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:21am

@H1S2: Hi! Thank you for trying out my game! :) Working on the "more action" thing as we speak! I may be fully fleshing out the game and giving it a release! Thanks again :)

Khaibit says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:11am

Well! Thanks for playing the game everyone, but placement tells me to pursue something more promising. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]