Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yin-Yang

by cstack - Jam Entry

A minimalist speed runner where you must alternate between two worlds. Don't spend too long in either the light or the dark, or you will fade into the background.

Up - Jump
Space - Switch Worlds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Theme(Jam)3.69
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#303Overall(Jam)3.33
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#668Graphics(Jam)2.56
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

gryphoness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13am

Nice. Action mechanics benefit from a little resistance on the controls (Hysteresis). Simple little bit of math that can make the controls feel a lot more realistic. Really like the minimalist style. Might have been deliberate, but something felt unintuitive about the two controls being spread across both hands. It might be interesting if you switched worlds by switching hands (different jump key on each hand, different switch key on each hand).

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17am

Quite a hard game, took me a while to figure out what was actually happening. I think the time before you fade is a bit too fast, making you switch back and forth to the point where you don't see things coming fast enough because of the perspective.

Good job though, runs well.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

Very nice game :D I liked the idea so much, and the game is so cool

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23am

It's a nice little game. The concept is not terribly innovative but it works and kept me busy a few minutes. Is 388 a high score? ^^

A few points to improve on:
- The camera movement between the layers is kind of confusing.
- The ratio of tall and short blocks is not well balanced between the two layers. It seems there are no very tall ones on the back. (this is maybe intentional)
- Some background music would be nice.
- The rotation animation of the yin-yang symbol could be smoother.

Keep it up!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30am

Good Job.takes a little time to understand the rules but game was fine after understanding them.

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Nice game, congrats!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

The zoom effect was cool, but being zoomed in on one world made it disorienting to switch back since you didn't get a full view before.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Fun game, took a while to get used to shifting between worlds to prolong the lifespan. Nice lo-fi visual approach too!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:10am

Great innovation! Good job overall!

v23v says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Awesome game! Very simple, addicting and fun. Didn't realize immediately that it was staying in one world that killed you, thought it was a bug or something. There might have been a better way to convey that then slowing fading to a color. I also didn't really like the transition between worlds, there seems to be a distinct advantage in terms of viewport when playing in the front layer.

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice concept and graphics. Liked the switch effect and mechanic! But holy wow, the death sound gets annoying after a while! Overall a really cool entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]