Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Your Glorious War

by coleott - Jam Entry

First Ludum Dare! First Unity project! A little janky, unfinished, and unbalanced, but it'll have to do!

Paradox Beasts have appeared in the Enigma Plains and you, Great Leader of This Proud Nation, must destroy them before they destroy your army! Raise young heroes to either sacrifice their lives in the war zone or take productive jobs in the homeland. Raise ordinary citizens too, unremarkable enough to be anything but followers and statistics, then guiltlessly deploy them as soldiers so they may give their boring, unremarkable lives in the name of Your Glorious War.

Basically, kill all the enemies and don't let your soldiers count drop to zero.

CLARIFICATION & KNOWN ISSUES:
* There's no animation, so it's easy to miss when numbers change or your turns end. Soooorryyyy.
* The enemy counter doesn't decrement, apparently, making it unwinnable. You can see how far you get though!
* There's no sound.
* The cryptic red button in the upper-left is "End Turn"
* To gain soldiers, you must first gain citizens. "Deploy <N>" means "convert <N> citizens into soldiers."
* The red bar on an enemy (after the 1st turn) means that that enemy is next (once your turn ends, they will do their action)
* GameOvers don't seem to trigger reliably (until you end a turn). Just keep an eye on that Soldiers count and use the honor system.
* Sometimes when you add a new hero they unintentionally start out greyed-out instead of playable.
* When adding or replacing cards (which demotes the Hero you're replacing to an ordinary citizen) you have to click the actual plus/boot button itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Graphics(Jam)4.06
#505Innovation(Jam)2.81
#651Theme(Jam)2.33
#716Overall(Jam)2.59
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

coleott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

DISCLAIMER:
At the deadline (an hour ago), the game worked locally but, because I didn't realize Unity's web player doesn't allow asset bundles, the individual units' graphics weren't showing up. I fixed that very simply, and then made a few tiny fixes (unchecking a box here, replacing a missed instance of a word there, etc) that should totally fall within the bounds of LD’s “typo fix” policy. You can see them here:
https://github.com/cott/LD30/compare/87bf845dc978ed708a17962e2a8631e59b53fcd6...fcd19f089f494805e438fa0b3db725f520c8d3a9

(I also added a "CLARIFICATION & KNOWN ISSUES" blurb to the description and used a different screenshot after the deadline. I assume that's fair)

coleott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26am

oops, I meant "DISCLOSURE:"

kebabskal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Gorgeous sprites. Totally incomprehensible gameplay :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice job with the artwork - cool looking characters, although i didn't really understand what I was doing in the game.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Fun game!! I really enjoyed it. Took me a bunch of attempts to really get a decent strategy going but it was definitely getting pretty addicting haha. Good work!! :]

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51am

The art really caught my eye but the game itself was pretty incomprehensible. Strategy isn't really my thing anyway, but with no sound and almost no visual feedback I basically had no idea what I was doing.

I could see this being quite good if the rest of the presentation lived up to the screenshots.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

Really like the art style, a nice type of game!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:02am

Unfortunately I'm inclined to agree with the other commenters. It seems like it could be a cool game, but I had no idea what I was doing or what was going on. Still, congratulations on your first Ludum Dare and I can't wait to see what you make in the future.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Very cool art. I was a bit confused by the gameplay.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

This game has high potential and you should keep developing it. The graphics are really nice and the gameplay seems innovative. A short tutorial at the beginning would be great too ;)

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:57pm

The game could have been good if there was a tutorial... I've managed to play continiously without pressing the red arrow for ending my turn. When I've pressed it, it said game over and I didn't understood why. But love the graphics! Cute and attractive.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Definitely needs a tutorial of some sort

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]