Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Remnant

by braqoon - Jam Entry

Short Story:
---------------
| REMNANT |
---------------

You are just woke up, looks like your workstation is destroyed. Find out what's going on.

Instructions:
WSAD to move , E to interact.

Game made in Unity, so you need DirectX9 on Windows or Fairly new Linux distro or a Mac.

Looking for 32bit Linux build ? get it here :

http://remnant.dfourgames.com/download/remnant_linux32.zip

This is a proof of concept on 'Connected Worlds' theme. It's maybe not apparent from the screens but best way to check it is to play it.

Done by : Bartosz Debski, Sarah-Leigh Murray & Dan Roddis

Enjoy !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Overall(Jam)3.60
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Very atmospheric! Though, I was confused as to why I'd go back to my body sometimes

braqoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

Thanks. Yes, granted it's not explained best but this is a timed mechanic so you don't wander where you should not :) Other thing that's a REM phase 1 which is a state of sleep that your brain might think you are still awake. This stage lasts 10 -15 min in real life, 10 secs in the game. Little play on Connected Worlds thing.

Berail says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Good work ! Interesting mechanic :D i like it :D

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Pretty nice and atmospheric timing/control game. I especially liked the graphics and ambient sounds. Spooky!

crneumre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Amazing atmosphere,and the mechanic was interesting to explore.
I did experience a bug in the second level where after i returned to my body that was on the lower bed and pressing s i exited the map and couldn't return so i had to restart from the beginning.
Overall fun and interesting game i enjoyed it :)

braqoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07pm

@crneumre & @esayitch thanks for feedback. Bug thing is a new on on me. We will check it. Thanks.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42am

gorgeous visuals, reminded me of Alien Breed (the original!)
Great stuff

Recon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

Good graphics!!!! (except the player)
Good game!

aneeslol says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

Very nice atmosphere, I'm curious what the rest of the story is now!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

I ran into that same bug as well. When sleeping in the room with the medic beds, it tossed me outside the "ship" at some point and I couldn't get back inside.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

Atmospheric! Graphics rough a bit, but still feels fine. Difficulty is too hard, I woke up too fast. Got to the medic room.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:06am

Very interesting game, though I feel it ended too abruptly. I would like to play a finished post-compo version at some point. Oh and I also experienced the glitch where you get stuck outside.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]