Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Princess Color

by lasecun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is developed with Libgdx and Android Studio.

*In Some Smartphone the Jump Button is hidden so, if you can see, check in the bottom right area of the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Humor2.80
#375Audio3.00
#494Mood3.06
#813Graphics2.70
#816Overall2.95
#828Theme2.83
#850Fun2.70
#962Innovation2.56
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

Hey congratulations on your first Ludum Dare! Your game worked without a problem in my phone.

I think that for a first participation, this was very nice, although there are some places it can be improved.

For example, during the game we collect many coins: but what are those coins for? You should add a counter somewhere of how many coins you got.

Also, you only have one life, and you restart from the beginning -- In game jams this is not such a great idea, because then people can't really see much of the game, specially if you make it too difficult by accident (something way to common).

Anyway, congratulations, and thanks for the game!

lasecun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51am

Thx for your review. It's true that i should put a counter with coins and also some extra lives.

If you want check all the game.. you can move to the left and jump between the levels.

Thx again for your review :)

Ventura says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Good music :) and good game for first ludum dare.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

I thought the game was okay. Good first entry and worked well on Nexus 7(2012).
As ppinted out already there are some Areas you could improve gameplay-wise. E.g. I noticed collision detection didn't work as eected at platforms.
Also on my device the red buttons and the actual controls weren't in the same place, but I can see how that's always a problem with Android ;-)
Good job finishing and let's see more of you ij the future!

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice game, could do with clearer onscreen controls

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

any chance for google play release?

lasecun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Updated with Store link. Thx Mess110

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Not bad! It definitely could use some HUD elements. Otherwise, it plays well!

lasecun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Thx, i need to study a bit more how HUD elements works in Libgdx.

Thx for comments

vandriver says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I got stuck breaking the wrong bricks! Worked solid on my nexus. I loved the floppy armed baddies. Best part of the game for me.

miwuc says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice little platformer, a bit unforgiving to my taste. It's not nice to make me start from scratch when I get hit a single time :/ Collision with coins could also use some work. I used the block on the left to cheat and look at all the levels anyway, which was useful for rating.
Nice story and take on the theme!

Docjekyll says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:38pm

FYI: Windows users can download BlueStacks in order to run the APK on their computer. It's practically impossible with the touch controls, but luckily the developer left the keyboard controls in.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]