Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planets

by kaa - Jam Entry

This game is about space traveling.
Alexander Scherbakov - coding
Anna Iakovleva - art
Dmitriy Iakovlev - sound
Konstantin Lanin - coding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#240Mood(Jam)3.35
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#270Audio(Jam)3.32
#284Graphics(Jam)3.60
#314Innovation(Jam)3.16
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#441Humor(Jam)2.29

Comments

jggiles says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Fun game! I really enjoyed the core mechanic. I also thought that panning the camera to the target before starting the mission was a great way to communicate objective to the player in a way that doesn't require reading. I was actually able to pick up and play with little trouble and minimal reading. Great job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Didn't realize the mouse can tweak the escape vector, got me puzzled for a bit! Got stuck in the second system, my earlier vector change caused my ship to immediately explode when hit by the skyscrapers of the planet I was at. XD

Interesting game overall! Very pleasing.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I kept crashing into the pink planet. Couldn't figure out how it worked...
Looks pretty and sounds nice though.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

Couldn't pass the 2 lvl. I like the gravitational mechanism. It looks that it's first time I saw it in this LD so it kind of surprise me. Audio makes good mood.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:29am

Nice idea and great execution. I like the sound ambiance and the narration.
Good work!

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

It could have done with a projected flight path, because most of my results were either luck or trial-and-error. I got stuck when I needed to go to the purple grimy planet (from the green one).

The art-style is really unique. I liked it.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Nice game mechanics. Got as far as the one just after the windy planet mission.

ambi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I tried like 20 times and can't get past the second level. The concept is nice, the graphics and audio great. Maybe there's something I'm missing here or it's just the tuning that's beyong my capability.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Downloaded the Windows, ran the HTMl file, but apparently I wasn't able to play; it would just constantly load and load, or something, while displaying at the bottom something about being made in Unity and such...
(note that I've played many other Unity games, standalone as well as web ones)

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

ambi, to pass second level (the last one actually) you have to use engine with arrow keys. Thank you!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Solid entry! I liked the sprinkling of story and the the ambient music is really moody.

Troy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

This game was great, firstly the art and audio has got you a 5 for mood, and the game wasn't too easy or too hard which must have been hard to get. Felt a little dizzy with the camera rotating a lot when I died but other than that it was a lot of fun. You should keep going with this game.

Njord says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Could use more feedback on the ship speed, but interesting game overall !

creative630 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice game, I like the concept and overall good execution. I found the restart time a little frustrating and not being able to see the space around you was severely limiting.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:27pm

this game is awesome. Really nice done!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Enjoyed the missions and how you used the story to make it more interesting then just flying between planets. The text was difficult at times to read though when certain planets were behind it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]