Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Protector

by jthistle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My fIrst LD entry! I started off making a game then at the end of day I scrapped it and started again.

Programmed in Python 3 and Pygame 1.9.2.

Python and Pygame (if you don't already have them) installation instructions:

Python for Windows and Mac (use version 3.4 for best results, compatible with version 3.x): http://python.org/downloads/
Pygame for Windows: http://pygame.org/
Pygame for Mac (follow instructions): http://coding2learn.org/blog/2014/03/11/installing-pygame-on-mac-os-x-with-python-3/

Running instructions:
Windows + Mac: Go into the game.py file and press F5 or go to Run -> Run Module.

Any bugs, please report them to me: info-AT-jamesthistlewood.co.uk

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#641Humor2.20
#750Audio2.31
#915Mood2.55
#918Theme2.65
#966Fun2.55
#973Innovation2.54
#993Graphics2.37
#1053Overall2.61

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

It's quite hard to run.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37am

ViliX, sorry, it's the only game language I know :P

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Why not create a directly playable version for online play? Couldn't get it to run.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

yodamaster, I'll see what I can do...

Also, why can't you get it to run? (Please specify operating system)

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

You could've just used py2exe for the windows folks...

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

Old school classic fun.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

Peping - Thanks!

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

Build missing...

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

Majko - umm...

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Old stylished graphics, simple and nice. Good job

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

Sorry, no Windows executable.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

Having it py2exe'd would help a lot of people ;)

jthistle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

Endurion - I'll see what I can do :)

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

Can be more accessible to run...

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I tried running it on Linux, and I got an error at game.py line 264 invalid foreground rgba argument.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I installed both python and pygame using the links you provided. I even restarted my pc thinking it may help but it did not. I see the DOSbox for a sec and then it vanishes and doesn't start a game. Could it be cause I am running a 64bit Windows 7 and pygame is 32 bit? Anyway.. lot's of effort put in but no result. Kind of a bummer..

jthistle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

DvanderAart - sorry, I'll get the game Py2exe'd as soon as possible

jthistle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58pm

eemmbbeerr - I'll look into it

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I got it to run on linux by renaming smallFlat.png to smallflat.png, but I couldn't get the keyboard input to work.

xxmicloxx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:28am

You should fix your filenames in game.py. They have to match the case of the actual files to work on linux.

jthistle says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

xxmicloxx, OK, I'll do that. Thanks for telling me.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:24pm

nice Retro feel i like the mood it created

swistakm says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:19pm

+1 for trying to do it in python. Welcome to python gamedev masochists club.

jthistle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I had to look up that word :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]