Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Find my Sun

by stink123456 - Jam Entry

Hi there,

After alot of trouble me and Michi were able to upload the game! (His network crashed in the upload hour and he had the latest version of the game.

THEME: after a long and hard brainstorm we understood that a multiverse wouldn't be a good idea so we started thinking of worlds as planets, as our "world" in the daily life is pretty much limited to the Earth. It was my idea to make a puzzler but we have both given alot of input into the design. So bassicly its about this part of the solar system (moon earth sun) trying to get connected and orbit again. The theme is not strong in this one but it has deffinantly been thought trough!


Tutorial:
wad: move
F: interact
Left click:


Note: Some sounds and effects are missing in the last boss fight due to a lack of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#235Humor(Jam)2.79
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#416Mood(Jam)3.03
#472Theme(Jam)2.97
#481Overall(Jam)3.07
#628Graphics(Jam)2.75

Comments

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

I could not load the webpage to play your game.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Really impressive stage layout! I got stuck a couple of times, but always managed to find a way out. Cool game :)

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

The platforming does feel a little rough, the moon thing is actually really neat. I enjoyed it overall!

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

Good game, I like the controls.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22am

Hello, we will release an update fixing some jumping issues, fixing that the sun in level2 actually shoots and making the game overall more smooth, we didn't notice this while developing this gamemode, anyway if you got stuck somewhere and want to see our epic storylines filled with cutscenes (and an awesome boss Mars planet at the end that shoots lasers out of his eyes), tomorrow we will upload a new version. Michi already went to sleep and he has the files, that's the reason I can't upload a fixed version right now.
Thanks and have fun!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25am

Not sure if it's a bug or I'm just playing the game wrongly, but my moon can't seem to press the second red button in the game, the one just after the two moving lifts.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

@HundredHundred, that button is meant for the player. Sorry we need to add a different sprite for it.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55am

The mechanics were good, the graphics were great, but the game felt shoehorned into the theme rather then being more central to the design.

Theme not with standing though this was actually quite fun.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01am

Hey thanks for pointing out uploading problem, it would be awesome if you could check back :D.

P.S. Liked your game as well, nice puzzles, fun art. I must agree that the theme is not entirely visible in this one.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

We fixed some bugs. First of all green buttons are green now and the sun actually will shoot at you. We just forgot to uncomment 1 line of code for activating the sun behaviour after the cutscene is finished.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Nice game!

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Moon got stuck on the red switch in the 2nd level, couldn't get the moon out :( Nice entry though!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Nice game, great story and I liked moon's spells so much :D

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Moon got stuck? Think again. Its a puzzle platformer, there must be someway to get your moon back, right?

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I couldn't get the web version or the osx version to work

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Certainly different world physics :)

I had real difficulty getting through the early levels, so either I'm super bad at this kind of physics or there's a glitch somewhere.

AtsK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Cool ideas for mechanics. Movement would do with a bit more polish though. Also when playing the web version right mouse button brings up a menu which is unfortunate.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07am

It's pretty hard to use right click and some other controls are a bit of buggy.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19am

Thank you for your feedback!
For the problem with rightclicking in the webplayer we recommend using fullscreen, then this menu doesnt appear on rightclick.

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Neat concept with the moon following the cursor and the earth following normal platformer controls :)

The cutscenes add some nice variety to the levels, as do the cool moon powers.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

Nice game! Fun and challenging! =D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Awesome game! my only complaint is that I couldn't get used to the physics. Controls are not as tight as I hoped. other than that! fantastic entry!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44am

The movement needs a bit of work to feel better. Jumping can be frustrating.. consider allowing jumping while rolling? Movement feels sluggish.

I love the story line and especially the moon character during the cutscenes.

Some of the art is fairly pixelated in contrast to the smooth lightning bolts and polished planets.

Difficulty was a little intense and frustrating because I didn't feel in control.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

It definitely could use more polish, but the planets are so completely adorable at times. Too bad I couldn't finish this level starting with trampolines because it was just so random, and Earth was so slow, and when I eventually managed to switch the lever it turned out I stopped at the wrong position or I just ended up landing right on the spiked balls. >.<

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Neat!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:02am

Congrats on your first entry! The graphics were simple, but I was impressed at the mechanics you used, with the moon following the cursor, gravity and such. Very well done!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:44am

Can't open the unpacked app.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Couldn't get the game to start!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:38pm

The game was pretty good. A little trouble with the mechanics once you are on the candelabras and the theme was way off but other than that this is a solid entry. Nice job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]