Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Color Bleed

by ranseur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ludum dare entry.

A game about war and color.

Made with Game Maker: Studio.
Music: http://www.abundant-music.com/
Sfx: http://www.bfxr.net/

Should dropbox fail us:
Web: http://ranseur.itch.io/color-bleed

v 1.02: Fixed a game breaking bug.

Note1: If you are on a very old laptop, I suggest using the Windows build, which is the most performing.
Note2: The source code is a forest dark. 48 hours result in quite nasty code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#61Mood3.83
#250Innovation3.56
#336Audio3.09
#471Overall3.29
#581Humor2.28
#689Fun2.89
#790Theme2.89
#1011Graphics2.33

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51am

this is the kind of game which requires reading the instructions. but once you do it is worth it

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27am

Really interesting interpretation of the theme. Great work

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

Very interesting game, need to get hang of the controls and understand the mechanics. Music is very moody, has a good message too.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24am

Well this is definitely a great idea and I loved the interpretation very much. Not sure if I got the interpretation correctly or not.
The way I understand it, you are in war with some kind of other nation and you start killing them until you realize you were just killing civilians all along and made a genocide? That was really an interesting thought to come across.

I guess the only win situation is to stop and not kill others.

I loved the music it fit the idea (if I understood it correctly above) very well and I liked the gameplay too. Really simple and effective.

Good work all in all :)

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25am

Interesting interpretation and message to people, it's sad that we don't fight against wars while in other places people is dying.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Once I internalized that those dots were people, it sent shivers down my spine. It's a truly modern military simulator, you specify points on a map and people die. A+

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Good idea, needs some kind of goal.

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

What this game loses in humour is gains back in epic amounts of mood.
War does not determine who is right, only who is left.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

The optional objective makes this perfect. Great work!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

first game i've played this weekend with such a strong message attached to it. brilliant game

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Interesting strategy game. A little light on presentation, but good for your first LD!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Nice job, especially for your first time! :)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Weird game. Why You can call Block Blockade in enemy blocks ?

ranseur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

@Berail "Enemy" is a key word here. Enemy?

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

I now see your comment "play until you reach some sense of closure" as a commentary on conflict.

This made me feel sad for the world we live in, which suprised me. Great work.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39am

Keep at it. This is a good idea. Flesh it out with some human models and you've got a classy game on your hands.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme. Great work for your first ludum dare.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Music is very soothing!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

Powerful stuff. Reminds me of Spec Ops: The Line in the fact that there is always the option to stop. I don't know if the Israel Palestine conflict was on your mind, but it was definitely on mine. As a game, I felt as though I had very little control over what was happening. As a gamer I am accustomed to being in control of the situation, and it is something that we should be dissuaded from. The power of this game is that you are affecting the world dramatically, but you are not in complete control of how you are affecting it.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Interesting

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]