Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by ajayajayaj - Jam Entry

Music by Kevin MacLeod from incompetech.com

Font by Cumberland Fontworks from www.fontspace.com

To move your characters press the arrows. You have two characters, one on the top screen and one on the bottom. Both characters will move. If one character hits a red wall they will stop but the other will continue moving. The goal is for both characters to reach the blue squares. The yellow and green squares are teleporters and will teleport you back and forth.

I wanted to add more levels but I couldn't work on the game the whole weekend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#421Audio(Jam)2.96
#554Innovation(Jam)2.73
#659Overall(Jam)2.77
#694Mood(Jam)2.15
#765Graphics(Jam)1.58
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

This game was actually really fun! First I thought it would be some crappy stuff because of the graphics but everyone: You gotta play it! Its very challenging and you have to think a little.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

I won yay, the 2nd level was hard for me v.v; gg

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I agree that the game is defiantly worth checking out, the graphics really don't do it any justice. Game: alright, graphics: Paint level.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Interesting puzzle game, quite tricky at points! Good job.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Really fun game, needs more levels.

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50am

@eemmbbeerr I wanted to add more levels but I couldn't work on the game the whole weekend.

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34am

the colors were garish, but the level design was pretty nice... had a lot more fun than i assumed i would based on the screenshot and description. also, your game deserves a better name than just the theme!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:04am

Couldn't beat the second level.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41am

Quite a tricky game, nice!

defacid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The music was pretty good and it was an interesting idea!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

That was actually pretty great. Got stumped on level 2 for a while. There are some interesting tricks in here.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Everything about presentation said "I'll be bored in 5 minutes" I just wish that the title and screenshots could convey how great this game actually is.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

Cool game! It could use some fancier graphics or more levels, but apart from that the core structure is solid.

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

What everyone else has been saying really. Also it would be nice if the portal things had some kind of deadzone, since I kept accidentally immediately teleporting back because I was still travelling in the same direction. But yeah, I ended up having a lot more fun that I thought. Awesome gameplay and levels, really only needs world on presentation in my opinion.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Interesting, requires some thinking :)

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:42am

After a short time my macbook pro get's really hot, but nice game.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Ok gameplay but I think that this idea is too overused

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:40pm

The mechanics are great for a puzzle game. I'd loved to have seen more levels, but time is a precious commodity during LD and I understand if you didn't have enough of it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]