Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Linking

by handkor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You've slipped between worlds only to find a huge monster. Is he holding on to the world trying to eat them or is he holding up the worlds? Kill it and find out.

Controls
WASD / Gamepad Leftstick - Move
Mouse / Gamepad Rightstick - Look
Left-Click / Gamepad B - Attack
Space / Gamepad A - Jump

Video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTkny6ClPTk

This game is made with UE4

If needed or getting error for msvcr120.dll missing, install Visual Studio Redistributable x86 from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 or run vcredist_x86.exe included in the zip.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#156Graphics3.84
#436Humor2.50
#494Mood3.06
#528Audio2.75
#562Theme3.25
#596Overall3.17
#602Innovation3.10
#717Fun2.87

Comments

Joseph says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38am

Gates looked very cool, would have liked the triggers on them to be smaller.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39am

Looks amazing!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Good idea and nice graphics, but it sometimes lags (I've got RADEON 6770, it's not much but it should be able to handle such game).
Anyway, more point's for the blur effect while moving the camera :)

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43am

I'm running on a gtx750ti and was getting some lag when panning to see all the gates. I went a bit nuts on the particle effects.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50am

Great entry! It was a really interesting concept. Ran perfectly for me, controlled pretty well, but it felt better with my controller. The graphics looked great, especially the portals and the monster.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

For fun, if you stand on a claw when you lift it, you get thrown in the air really high.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57am

It's cool that you have a video for those of us without Windows! :D

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

Awesome, great job!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

The controls were a little squirely and I kept immediately re-enting portals I had already left and falling to my doom. Also fairly laggy for me as well.

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

Looks great, but man is it heavy. There is serious lag on my machine when I try to play it. I like the visuals

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Looks great. Wasn't able to figure out what to do until I watched the video. Also it really tanks the FPS (at least on my computer).

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Pretty neat take on the theme :P

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

the character reminds me to marvin the paranoid android(my avatar) :P

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Interesting concept with a funny ending :)

n42k says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

I could not play this at playable rates due to the very high detail so I can't rate. However, I did like the detail put into this game.

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11am

I don't know why, but it run really slow in my pc

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17am

It is UE4 but I also went a bit heavy on particle effect. Too bad there was no time for me to optimize.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10am

Sorry, i tried playing, but it was too laggy. This seems to be an issue for me when playing entries made in unreal engine

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

looks nice)

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nice! I like the concept of the monster holding on to the bits of land. Nice effects on the portals too!!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Interesting...

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very cool, kept me playing till the end.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Haha the ending reminds me of how most of my games are. Nice work with this.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Sorry, the graphics look amazing but It's too laggy to play on my computer.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]