Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

FireBug

by arbiccdheife - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first attempt at Ludum Dare. An alien race has opened a portal on your planet and are invading. You must fight your way through several levels and secure the portal.

Controls:
A + D -- Left Right
Space -- Jump
F -- Flamethrower
Esc -- Pause

Tools used:
Slick2D
Paint.net
Audacity
BFXR

The linux build can be run with the command: java -jar ./FireBugLinux.sh (Thank you MemoryLeek).

Note: I'm working on getting a working OS/X build up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#61Humor3.57
#274Audio3.21
#565Fun3.04
#619Mood2.90
#783Graphics2.75
#802Overall2.96
#1023Theme2.42
#1074Innovation2.33

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

The game is quite good. Killing bugs with flamethrowers is awesome! I do'nt like the jumping mechanics but thats a personal thing.

holgk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Nice game. But you should have used a other key than F for the flamethrower. F and space are hard to reached with one hand and using A, D and F with one hand is hard, too.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22am

The voices are so bad that they are great! Jumping needs a lot of work, but for 48 hours, this is a great effort! Nice work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

Hmmm I downloaded the OS/X version but all I got was an empty folder named "FireBugApple". ???

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10am

For some reason this is marked as a virus by chrome. Anyone else have this problem.

cudabear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13am

Great flame effects, and I loved the screams of the enemies! Some music would have been nice, though. Platforming controls felt really broken, especially jumping. Controls made it hard to play (can't press D and F at the same time with one hand)

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18am

Unfortunately I couldn't get the Linux version to run on Ubuntu, probably because I'm not too familiar with Java. I tried "java -jar FireBugLinux.sh" and got:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: framework/LD30 : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I downloaded this on OS X and I also only got an empty zip file..??

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I managed to run the game on Linux by using java -jar ./FireBugLinux.sh.
At first I assumed it was a regular .sh-file and tried to chmod it and run it, which didn't work.
Anyway, once the game was running it worked great.
I have to say this game had me laughing, in a positive way.
That "aaaaah" sound is so epic and hilarious! :D
The game itself is very hard and unforgiving, I didn't manage to get past level 2 :)
Also, the physics could use some improvements.

arbiccdheife says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Hi all..thanks for all the feedback. I have removed the OS/X link for now. I'm ignorant when it comes to Mac..I'll do some research and see if I can get a working build for it up.

Thank you MemoryLeek for trying the Linux build.

Making the jumping/overall physics better was on the to-do list but got cut for the 48hr build. I plan on releasing a slightly better post-comp build later on.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:20am

This is the message when I try to run it on OS X:

$ sh FireBugLinux.sh
readlink: illegal option -- f
usage: readlink [-n] [file ...]
Error: Unable to access jarfile
: numeric argument requiredit: 0

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23am

The jumping needs a little getting used to, but i enjoyed playing it. The sound effect of burning bugs is just hilarious =P Good job.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36am

The only way to play that game is to speedrun it. Else it's hard and too imprecise on the jump. Then it's fun (still hard). I like the arts and the sounds.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37am

Best audio of any game I've played so far. The game is rudimentary but challenging. Well done!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:39am

I'm also getting this blocked by Chrome. Maybe, I dunno, they see "fire" and "bug" as an .exe and freak out?

arbiccdheife says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48am

Yea sorry about the Chrome thing. I'm putting up a runnable jar version now.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:25pm

jar version worked pretty well on win7. But game was to hard to me to much gavity and f is anoying to shot than I ned this finger to move most of the time to the right. Nice work.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I feel like the pyromaniac I've always wanted to be.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57pm

The gravity is ridiculous, you should not fall that fast. The controls are really too close together. The windows.exe doesn't open. Not a fan of the one hit deaths like that, not without some sort of checkpoint or some way to get more than one hit.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:56am

Challenging and fun! Great entry!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:29pm

a nice platformer. Could have been more polished but the levels are fun.

Tanser says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:35am

Hahaha, love the game! Nicely done for compo!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:48pm

OMG the voices ><

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]