Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bridge to the Moon

by Zigsfi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Build a bridge to the moon! (technically it's from the moon, but...)

It's an arcade-style shoot-em-up, so there is no win state. Just try to build the bridge as far as you can!

Give it a try, and leave a comment with your score! So far my record is 12 - see if you can beat that!
Notes:

There are some minor audio glitches, but nothing too impactful.

The enemy generation is random, so some rounds will be much harder than others.


Built in Unity for the web. Sound from bfxr, original music, original art. Shader code is all Unity base code, unmodified. Other code is mine.

Edit 8/25/2014 4:01 est: Just realized that I accidentally submitted the wrong version of the game (unacceptably high difficulty as opposed to just "high" and various typo/font glitches) so I've resubmitted, per Ludum Dare rules. Sorry for any negative experiences had so far! Also, by popular request I've added a linux build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Audio3.29
#301Graphics3.50
#623Theme3.17
#630Mood2.89
#661Fun2.92
#684Overall3.08
#801Innovation2.83
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

It's too hard, imo, but it's a fun concept. The controls could be tighter, and the instructions clearer, but apart from that.

eott says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I felt the enemies distracted too much from the goal of the game. I never got any progress done on the connecting part. But I liked the comic(y) visuals.

Elde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Great audio and visuals! Wish there was more to the game but I loved what I saw

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

That was crazy difficult. I managed to get up to four on the planet connection, but I had no idea how high it needed to go. This took a good five minutes, since I had to spend most of my cubes for health due to the never-ending enemies that you can't really avoid.

That being said, it was a lot of fun. A radar or something else to help deal with the enemies that spawn behind you and immediately start attacking, or even just to find gray cubes. All it needs is more polish, but it's a compo game, so that's to be expected.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Really hard! and the attracting beam felt too weak :P
The controls are really tricky to do when you have complete freedom to move around, but they felt good.

Nice execution!

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28am

I made it to 0! Yeah, zero. But I had fun doing it; enjoyed the retro-feel graphics and the chill out music while casually shooting stuff and getting wiped out. Repeatedly had the "playing along and having fun" and suddenly "Game Over" showed up experience. Huh? I died? Again? I needed a good 2 minute start to figure out how to build things before I had to shoot back. Never did figure that out.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Great audio! I was a little confused by the concept but found the shooting of enemy craft fun!

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Hard to build the bridge and fun to shoot enemies.

Kiwiboi says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really nice idea, the controls were great I felt and nice audio and graphics. Solid game! :)

radmars says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Hard to figure out how to actually win but this is pretty fun, nice work. Love the guitar too!

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I agree with the others about being distracted from the goal by the enemies. Even so, it's still sooo fun. I love the way it feels. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]