Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

BingaR - Story driven platformer

by DvanderAart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story driven may not have been the smartest choice for a first time game maker in a 48 hour contest hahaha
I don't have a title and not a whole lot of game play, but I think it works okay and the things I do have look alright. And I was at least well on my way of setting up a fair story line. Feel free to let me know what you think.

**If it doesn't seem to load, try refreshing the page. I am not sure what causes this.

Regards,
Danny

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#234Graphics3.65
#273Humor2.83
#508Mood3.05
#581Theme3.22
#620Fun2.98
#741Audio2.33
#829Overall2.94
#1090Innovation2.29

Comments

SnowDrop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10am

Oh this is well done. I wish for more! The back ground is fantastic as well.

jubjubforder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40am

I agree with SnowDrop. Nice atmosphere, simple concept but made me want more.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Very interesting. Would be nice if you could make a finished post-compo version.

drstik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

+1 for more! Love the artwork.

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Pretty cool! It has a better story than most games I've played so far

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Pretty cool concept. Set the game up nicely, now I want to know more about these ancient head things.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:20pm

I really like the style! Try making a longer version for the Jam.

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice game, congrats!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Those grass decorations were ace!

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Cool game, but a tad bit short in its current state

bw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

more?

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice game hope you'll made a finished version post LD :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very interesting, too bad it wasn't finished.

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I liked the concept and had fun playing, I just wish there were more levels. That noise at the end took me by surprise lol.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Love the graphics, and the Idea for the story is great!

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Love the graphics, and the story is a great concept!

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I only noticed i had scripted the last statue to make sound this morning. Facepalm! And yeah i wish i had more levels done too and i would have wanted to decorate up the ones i have more. But time is short and it was my first game attempt so next time i guess :) Today i simply do not have time to work on it so no gamejam version i'm afraid. Thanks for checking it out everyone. I will be doing the same with yours!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I loved the aesthetic, the opening exposition went a bit long though. Maybe you could have spread it around a bit more between gameplay? Or maybe I'm just weary and it wasn't THAT long...

Interesting idea of doing a story game.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45pm

The art for the level backgrounds is amazing, I'd love to see more of it and of this game.

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Heh, pretty cool. I like the art. dialogue was good. made me giggle like a little school girl. Definitely need some delay clock between sound effects. if you pray to the guy at the end the sound gets stuck in a wicked loop. overall its great and I'd love to see more <3

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Hi there. Very slick finish, great shame not more... bookmarked! Lovely character design, really simple but cute. Good physics.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Yes LexGear you are right. To be honest i did not realize the last sound was still active. It was not supposed to be there but that is the nature of deadlines i guess. I really value everyones comments. Very motivating for a first time game maker i can tell you. I will definitly be joining next time and i am actually thinking of using the months ahead till the next ludum dare to do a proper version of this. It would be good practice and maybe prepare me better for the next one cause i've kinda thrown myself in the deep end i guess lolz

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

It looks so good! I wish there was more. The last HUFNAF statue is pretty creepy - nice touch.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:41am

Nice! I was definitely hoping for more but I definitely understand having to cut it down with the time constraint. I especially liked how it taught me the controls as I went along. The criticism I have is that the "hostile" world was extra hard because the jumping didn't depend on how long you held the button (but that can also be a perfectly good design choice as well). Good job :)

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:13am

+1 Great game!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Yeah Nice +1

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Thanks Peter :) Too bad you cannot vote whehehe

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Vote?
Peter?

RoFl....
Ziet er best uit [Den]....

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:58am

Pretty good for what is there. ALL HAIL THE HUFNAF!

Warboys says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

Enjoyable game. I liked the sort of bullet hell + platformer mix. Challenging stuff.

The noise at the end made me crap my pants though... it was like a Screamer!!

(PS: My game; Outdoor, should work now. In case you want to see the end, there's a new dropbox link with a bug fix)

pansapiens says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Loved the look of the funny totem god (just can't get enough of HUFNUF). I guess ultimately you bit off more than you could chew in 48 hours (easy to do) since the story and gameplay didn't really go anywhere, but what you have is a pretty good start.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Yes pansapiens, bit off too much is an understatement lolz. I value your comments though and will learn from this dive in the deep end muahahahaha
And yes Warboys, i will check it out for sure :)

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Beautiful graphics, and I love the HUFNAF thing :)

psychonull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

I really like the art. Well done!!

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:17am

I like The eyes of the main character^^ too bad there is no more gameplay, but ludum dare is what it is!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Interesting game. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

MaesK says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Oh, I wish it would be more complete, it was definitely looking good, by graphics and sound. I like the protagonist, its just a triangle, but a nice one :D

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I couldn't get this to load in my Mac OS Chrome.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Not even by hitting refresh while the page is up? That generally fixes the problem..

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:49am

OH great HUFNAF, give us a rating, lord HUFNAF. Creating a story is what normally takes most time, and then balancing and polishing everything it is almost impossible to fit on such limited schedule. Reading that it was your first time then I would congratulate you on your good results, keep improving. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]