Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

FLIP!

by ShadowStryker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD guys, so hopefully I churned out an enjoyable game. Thanks for playing!


[CONTROLS]
~ WASD or Arrow Key controls for movement
~ Enter and movement controls are used while in menus
~ You can mute music from inside the "Options" menu in the in-game's pause menu


Everything else is pretty much explained as you play. It's a puzzle game, have fun and think a little. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#121Theme3.85
#172Fun3.56
#308Overall3.46
#311Audio3.14
#411Mood3.16
#538Innovation3.18
#540Humor2.35
#715Graphics2.87

Comments

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

The game mechanic is elegant and works well, however, once you figure out the "trick", there isn't much of a challenge. There is enough content included in the game to entertain me for a bit, but I just wish there was more of a difficulty curve.

I would definitely expand on it.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

Really cool, music went well with it, the mechanic was interesting and actually there was more levels than I was expecting. Nice work!

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

Trying to switch from regular and inverse controls simultaneously confused my brain a little. Definitely a bit of a challenge.

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Really cool concept. Puzzles were tricky but not impossible. Music served its purpose really well.

I also really liked that the "Level Complete" sign was flipped on the other side, nice touch.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

A good entry. Sometimes one of the two balls wouldn't move vertically even though there was nothing in the way. Either way, decent fun.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05am

Very nice audio. I like the attention to the theme. It would be nice to see expanded upon! Keep up the good work!

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

cool game! could work in 3d ?? i love the music..

arbiccdheife says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

I really enjoyed this entry. The mechanic is simple, enjoyable, and really lends itself to the theme.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

very enjoyable. I was surprised to see how many levels could implement the mechanic. Nice entry!

Would be a great little game to expand on!

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

The mechanic isn't new to me, but the level design is quite good (certainly beyond what I could do). The music was great, too, I was going to ask if you made it yourself until I noticed that it was a compo entry.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12am

Didn't run for me on OS/X. Clicking the app just did nothing.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26am

It feels like there's something missing from this. I'm not sure what. It needs some music to tide me over. The concept could go places if it were spiced up.

Nitpicks:

- Movement is /way/ too slow. My leg was shaking with impatience.
- The levels aren't very challenging. They need something to make you plan out your moves. If it were tile-based, maybe a limit on the number of moves you can make? Like.. what's that called.. where you can't go back over tiles you've already been to..

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39am

This was a neat puzzle =)
At this stage it's a little bit easy but that's something you would be able to rectify given more time. Really liked it ^^

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28am

Great idea that fits perfectly with the theme. I wish the collision detection was a little more forgiving, but it's great overall!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28am

Well executed mechanic, with a clean design. I did kind of feel like I had "solved" the game by the end (put a sphere in a boxed place near the end, solve the other sphere, clean up), though there were one or two bits where I had to think for a second. I think Isolating those and expanding upon them is the way to go.

I liked the music but it got grating after level 5.

And level 10...I can't think of a reason either. I see the analogy.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28am

A tad on the easy side, but still fun to play, I LOVE puzzle games and I feel like this was a solid entry! May the odds be ever in your favor!

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32am

Levels never got too challenging, but overall a nice puzzle game! Good interpretation of the theme.

madmaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

Nice game, maybe would be improved by having atomic tile-based movement instead of analogue as I spent a bit of time stuck on corners and it might help you control the challenge level.

As an aside, maybe consider hosting downloadable files on DropBox, Mediafire has so many ads and pop-unders it's ridiculous.

Oh yeah, you couldn't run my game, I think I've fixed the problem you were having if you want to give it another go. Thanks!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19am

As per what was advised, all downloads have been moved over to DropBox links.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Really addicting fun puzzle game, with great music.

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

One of the least frustrating versions of this mechanic that I've seen, and fun enough that I actually beat it. My only real complain is that it was a bit too easy to get hung up on corners.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

Like the physics, or it, and cool levels too!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

This is probably the most well-rounded game I've played. Nothing too amazing, but nothing that's horrible either. It sounds mean when I say it that way, but good job man.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Good game, clever puzzles, nice aesthetic and music. Great work!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Interesting mechanic, hard to get used to the flipped controls on the bottom half, but good overall!

jpverkamp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Seen it done before (heck, I was considering doing something like it), but it's a nicely polished version. I think the only thing I got a little frustrated with was the bounding boxes on collision. I almost wonder if it might be better without continuous movement. The audio was nice and abstract too, which fit. Graphics could be fairly easily swapped out for pretty much anything else without changing the underlying mechanics.

(Side note: Chrome flagged it, most likely because it's an EXE. Scanned with Avast and all seems fine. Consider not directly putting EXEs up for download.)

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

@jpverkamp Chrome has flagged almost every single game on LD as malicious for me so far. It got to the point that I had to disable Chrome's malware filter just to Play & Rate. It's a result of it being an uncommonly downloaded file.

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Since everyone seemed to be least satisfied with the collision detection, I went ahead and changed it over into a circular bounding box instead of a rectangular one. Hopefully that makes for a better experience for you all.

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:08am

Interesting, our entries actually turned out quite similar!

I liked it! This is a solid puzzle game! The collision did have some issues and I would have preferred if the objects "snapped" to the grid of the mazes, but it was still very much playable! Good job!

Tanser says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:28am

Interesting game, nice job.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:26am

Great use of a simple mechanic. I liked the music. I would say the puzzles get formulaic after a while - if you expand on this, some obstacles with other mechanics would help. But, for 48 hours, great job!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:08am

I loved the contrast and clean art design of the levels that compliments the theme. Great audio, but could use a couple more sfx.

The levels all seemed to be solved with the same strategy for me and became one note (Get to the end with one, now the other, repeat). I think I got stuck for about 20 sec on the 3rd level, but other than that it was too straight forward.

I would love to see new elements in later levels. Maybe one opens something for the bottom so you can't just go straight to the goal?

Definitely fun at first and it was nice to have a voice/text that gives the game some more personality.

ConciseBit says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Awesome puzzle game! Works the brain :)
Good use of the theme too!

Good job.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Nice simple idea and aesthetic well executed. You could perhaps have made it a little harder. Fun though.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Really nice concept

HELLO23 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Pretty nice. Music is nice. The levels are a bit easy, not challenging enough, but overall it is a really nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]