Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Traveler

by puppetmaster - Jam Entry

You are the world traveler.

Find your way through our Connected Worlds, but hurry, the connecting gates won't last forever.
Watch out for the residents they don't like intruders.

Use Arrows to move.

************************************

Our team
Sammakko: Development, Worlds
puppetmaster: Soundeffect, Tiles, Sprites, Worlds
dark3zz: background Music

It's our first entry and first time ever to finish a game. :-)

We used Libgdx, Pyxel Edit, Tiled map editor.
Everything was created inside the competition time except the background music.


have fun and thank you for rating

Puppetmaster and Sammakko

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#210Mood(Jam)3.41
#277Humor(Jam)2.67
#308Graphics(Jam)3.56
#315Audio(Jam)3.21
#372Theme(Jam)3.18
#414Overall(Jam)3.18
#459Fun(Jam)2.90
#546Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

mons657 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

How many worlds are there?

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

there will be 11 worlds in the final build (now building)

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

Love the graphism, the gameplay is a bit hard and sometime we get stuck but I go quite far in the game &enjoy, nice entry "puppetmaster" :D

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

I don't understand the point of the other characters, as it seems the goal is just to walk to the gate and there's no time to do anything else. The music is very atmospheric, nice work!

dark3zz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25am

i really like this game! under pressure find your way to the portal.....! its hard, but i kinda like this, reminds me of the good old time... :--)

keep the good work dewdz! tnx for using my soundtrack!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17pm

great game! I really like the Aesthetics. It is quite challenging too. :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

cool music. really sets the mood

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

The game is fun, you have to be aware of the goal and enemies

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Loved the ambiance and the atmosphere... ++ on graphics and sound! In terms of gameplay I think there is a small issue with collision,for instance, if I press up and right and I hit an edge on the top side, I should continue moving right, but this doesn't happen, and I stop on my tracks.

Aside from that, pretty nifty and stylish entry.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice ambiance and atmosphere, but gameplay is maybe a bit to simplistic.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

It's an interesting experience. Or rather would be, if it wasn't really annoying as a game.

Why do you need to use the mouse to progress from the title / game over screen instead of the keyboard? The spawn on level 7(?) is annoyingly placed (you have to start moving almost instantly or you will die right there at the spawn). It would also be nice if the player had like a second or so to view the level before it begins. The collisions were also pretty inconsistent (characters to walls, player to enemies), even the AI got stuck quite a lot. Didn't finish it. When level 9 or 10 (I don't remember) started, I only had like three seconds in the timer, no way I can make it to the end that fast.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Thank you for all your comment's, we've change the game in the last second from friendly, easy to hard and sometimes unfair. Maybe it was not the right decision. After the voting we will release a polished version. Have you used the button on the floor?

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

@puppetmaster
I tried my hardest to stand on the buttons (whenever I noticed them in time :P), but it was usually wiser to just rush to the exit.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Awesome pixel art and it's very challenging. Keep up good work !

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57am

I liked the atmosphere and aesthetic a lot. I was a little confused about the switches that get stepped on, but overall I didn't get too confused with the gameplay. Great work!

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Why is the timer so ugly? :(

But yeah, I like the graphics, very moody. And gameplay itself is not bad with all the pressure.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:26pm

This is really great. Love the music, and there's some nice polish which really helps to add to the mood. It's a strange and interesting world so I wanted to keep playing. Well done. :)

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:55pm

@jahmaican Yeah it's very ugly!! We wasn't sure if we hide it or not. Perhaps it will be a option to hide or bundled the visibility with the difficulty.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Love the graphics! Looks awesome, very cool game too!

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

Beautiful aestetic, and simplistic but satisfying gameplay. Really I feel the difficulty was good for the most part on most of the levels, I just got really frustrated with the game sending me back to the start each time I made one tiny mistake. Possibly a system where it sends you back one world further for each failure on each level could work?

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

This game feels unfair and frustrating. I agree with a lot of things Moosefly said. Fixing the collision detection would really decrease the frustration.

Still, it creates a great atmosphere, of a strange world with strange inhabitants.

PS: I didn't want to say anything, but that running animation DOES look quite weird.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:59am

Nice game with cool graphics. Gets really hard after a few worlds.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:20pm

cool game. The moody pixel graphics are great. Checkpoints would have been nice ;)

Tanser says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:25am

Looking very good!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:41am

It was pretty frustrating getting sent back to the beginning when you died, and it was often a surprise why you would have to restart. The graphics and sounds are lovely, though.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice one, the gameplay is minimal and difficult but it mostly works. The downside is that the game is teared between a fast-paced arcade game and an ambient exploration adventure, I would have prefered something a bit more calm and easy. Actually most of the game consists in staring anxiously at the countdown and sorting out collisions against the walls, so it leaves little time to enjoy the scenery. Also, the mobs already add the necessery pressure for the player to advance, so I'm not sure if the countdown was necessary at all.

That's all for my feedback about game design! The rest is a success to me: the graphics and the level design are pretty good, and the game is overall well polished. Good job, especially for a first!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]