Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cubic's Adventure

by RikMuld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is about a yong cube named: Cubic. On one fateful day Cubic got separated from his home world. Now he has to gross several worlds to return.

The game was meant as a puzzle/platformer/rpg thingy. But 2 days was just to short to finish it, and I barely got any gameplay in the game.

The game is designed for 1080p and windows but will work on any resolution and OS, although that is untested. Anyway the game will run as long as you have opengl 3.

Furthermore the game is written in scala, I first wanted to use c++, but creating a game would take a bit longer so I went with scala. The library I used to create the game is the LWJGL, mainly utilizing opengl 3.

Also it last I want to warn everybody: The rendering is terribly inefficient, sorry, I just couldn't spend more time at the rendering code. So if you don't have a great PC there 'might' be some lag.

PS. Don't judge my code :P And enjoy! (for what it's worth O_O)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#435Graphics3.26
#457Humor2.48
#619Mood2.90
#744Theme2.97
#791Audio2.22
#950Overall2.79
#962Innovation2.56
#1052Fun2.39

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35am

Your game has an awesome art style to it, really dig it.
I got quite a kick out of the "Sorry, no more gameplay". Had been really surprised by the seemingly massive amount of content from seeing the 3 worlds you had until that message popped up :)

RikMuld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

Yeah sorry, I had planned to finish the fiery volcano with some levels, enemies and a leveling system. But it just was to much to create, the actual gameplay after the intro (the only volcano world level)was added 30 minutes before submitting.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

When I tried to run it, I had a long teal screen and nothing happened...

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25am

This error popped up when I ran it - http://pastebin.com/nnDJsHXe. Possibly due to lack of OpenGL 3?

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

it dont loads. nothing happen

Recon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30am

Doesn't run, I don't rate it!
Win8, all necessary stuff installed.
I'm so sorry.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19am

Looks amazing, ran fine on my Windows 8 machine.
I'd play the full version =)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

Worked great on my Win 8.1 :)
(LWJGL ROCKS!)

masterhyjinx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

Game quits on load with the error: "ProjectLoader quit unexpectedly"

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

Looks really nice. However does not start on my Mac:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Cubic's Adventure/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Cubic's Adventure.jar

java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-462-11M4609)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-462, mixed mode

OSX 10.9.4

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

hmm just had a light blue screen win7

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Can't play sadly, light blue screen and nothing happens.

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Awesome proposes,,but error in gameplay,,, black screen,,, strange,,,, but initially is an incredible game...

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I would love to rate this game but it doesn't seem to work on Win7, I just a blue screen

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Well...Game not finished..It's only an intro to a game..
Also I don't like very much the mix of graphics style, too much different stuff mixed up..

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Nice game, I would like to see more!

RikMuld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

To everyone who can't play it: sorry. Your pc probably doesn't (fully) support opengl 3.3 it might be fixable by updating your video card.

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Doesn't appear to run on my Linux machine with OpenGL 3.3 support (NVidia GT 630M). Apparently my drivers don't support GLX_ARB_multisample.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I was looking forward to the gameplay! It looked promising!

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

MAC OS don't run.
Just do not open.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Can't get it to run, sorry:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Can't load library: .../Cubic's Adventure/libs/natives/mac/liblwjgl.dylib
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1817)
at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Runtime.java:809)
at java.lang.System.load(System.java:1083)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:70)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at com.rikmuld.core.Start$.setupWindow(Start.scala:33)
at com.rikmuld.core.Start$.main(Start.scala:18)
at com.rikmuld.core.Start.main(Start.scala)
at com.rikmuld.ProjectLoader.main(ProjectLoader.java:7)

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

All I get is a blue screen (not the windows blue screen of death)

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Good work! Runs perfectly on my system. I would love to play this again if you add to it! The 2.5D style is cool, but would you consider a traditional 2D approach? I think it might look/feel even better if flattened, as odd as that might sound.

Maybe you and I could trade notes down the road; I've been working on a somewhat similar game outside of Ludum Dare. Look me up some time if you'd like to see it and should you ever continue your project.

Nice job considering the limited time frame!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Unfortunately I can't see the nerration cause it's off
screen and so I couldn't play it.
Also - it's kinda irretating how slow it types;
and that I have no control during that time.

Martins says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Doesnt work on my Win7: i can't see ground, can't see anything besides cubeman himself and portals and text.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00pm

The game doesn't run on my computer, it just shows an azure screen and nothing happens.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Works great, starts promising. Shame there's only the bigning. Keep up the good work :)

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Sorry, doesn't run on my Win 7 machine.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

The games graphics look really interesting from the pictures but unfortunatly it won't run on my Mac.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Feels Minecraft-ish. Feels unfinished. That's a shame.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Looks like 2D Minecraft. Good job.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Works fine for me.
Learning how to scope well is tricky. Hopefully this has proven insightful for you.
Also, be sure to proof-read your text. I counted 8 mistakes in just the text you have. ;)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:38pm

When I try to run it, everything my screen flashes to black, and then the application closes...I'm not sure why...

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:21am

The game could be nice, but there is no gameplay implemented yet, keep working on it : D
also, you could set some music and maybe a button to run or something

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]