Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under World

by tiff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hit return to start game and space to flip worlds. Don't let the bad guys touch you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#279Theme3.63
#452Graphics3.23
#812Mood2.70
#832Humor1.92
#894Innovation2.69
#950Overall2.79
#987Audio1.47
#1070Fun2.34

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04am

nice one. Controls were a little bit tough to get used to but otherwise, solid game and cool concept!

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Fun! The mood was really great and I loved the idea. I had a little trouble timing my jumps when I was close to platforms but I definitely wanted to see and explore more of the world. I think there's great potential for puzzles!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

I really like what you did with the concept. Switching worlds kinda blew my mind.

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13am

I like the general idea. Jumping feels a little wonky, but manageable.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really cool graphics and nice use of the theme. I just wish it was a bit more fleshed out in terms of what the goal was and what the stars do. There doesn't seem to be any score related stuff implemented yet.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

Really nice idea with the flipping world! The jump-button was slightly difficult to get used to though :)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

The parallel worlds were nice. Artwork was pretty. Nice work.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

Interesting idea - reminds me of the flash game Shift.

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23am

Controls where a bit hard but still nice.

rohin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41am

I love the graphics! How did you learn how to do such detailed graphics design?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

I really like the way the trees roots turn into withered branches in the other world. Nice interpretation of the theme. Controls are quite glitchy but pretty fun anyway.

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

Really nice idea, but the physics/controls need quite a lot of fine tuning.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Thanks for the great feedback everyone!

"I love the graphics! How did you learn how to do such detailed graphics design?"

Thanks and I think it's probably just practice. I like experimenting with shadowing and highlighting. I still have tons to learn. :)

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I agree with the others that the controls were a little rough, especially the jumping often lead to bouncing around more than once. There was also a fellow looking just like the guy I was controlling a bit to the right.
But it is a good beginning, just fix nicer controls and a count-down on the stars.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Great job Tiff! Glad to see you with your first LD entry. Liked the idea and the visuals. Would keep improving and polishing it as a personal project.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

Very good use of the theme. Really liked the graphics. The jumping physics were a bit odd, as it was hard to jump just once without accidentally jumping again.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

Nice game!
Pros
theme respected
graphics
game mechanic (flip world)

Cons
no sound/music
jumping and movements are a little bit clunky
collision detection with stars not always precise

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

Saw the screen of this and had to come try it out. Great artwork. Controls threw me at first, but once I got the hang of it I had a lot of fun.

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27am

Nice Graphics

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37am

good art direction, programming needs work

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

Space is often jump, a litle tricky to get used to it doing world swap.
Design and looks is totally awesome!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

The concept is solid, graphics are pretty chill, but controls are rough

Amvere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59am

Really nice artwork!! As others have said, the controls were pretty frustrating at times.

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

Felt like a rubber ball. Interesting idea

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

I like how it aligns to the theme, although I feel like I have played similar games. The AI needs work and the collision detection feels a bit off (although I understand these are hard things to accomplish in 48 hours). I like how the top part of the screen instantly switches to the "world" that you are engaging with. Some audio would have been really nice in setting the mood and providing feedback.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

I'm not a big platformer fan, but I liked the graphics.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

The graphics are okay, but the game needs a bit of polishing. But, hey, it's your first time partecipating, don't get discouraged and keep jamming!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

nice game and great graphics. I collected all the stars, but nothing happened.

alhvi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice concept and graphics :D. Controls felt kind of weird :P. Good job.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22am

A lot to fix...
Insta death
No random gen
Stars do nothing
Flipping not necessary
Having to press enter each time
And the enemies had derpy behaviour.
Had potential but you didn't achieve it.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51am

Love the idea and graphics. The jumping seemed to be a bit off, would sometimes jump twice and often not jump high enough to get on the platforms.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33am

Good concept, great artwork. Unfortunately some flaws in the controls.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49am

Controls suck, but the idea is nice. I like graph too!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

really interesting concept! I liked the parallel worlds having different moods! Good art design, it would of been cool to use completely different art styles for each world though, maybe 2D shadowplay for the shadow world, and a cool vector 3d for the other. Altogether great stuff!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Hi there. Lovely design on your game. Found the platforming controls a bit tricky, I think something in my head used to space for jump... which caused many deaths. Shame no sound.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice graphics, good idea.

megaelliott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

The graphics in this are very nice however some elements such as the stars and enemies clash with the dark design of the main character and the backgrounds really making it lose the mood.

Controlling in general is rather bad aside from the flipping mechanism which I think was employed well. The platforming itself was very bad however, I often double jumped when I wasn't even holding jump and collision with platforms was off at times making playing very frustrating which was a shame as the aesthetics of the game are very well made. Additionally I think that there should be some sort of UI element telling you about the number of stars you have collected.

The game excels in graphical design but lacks stable gameplay, even so this is very impressive for a first Ludum Dare entry, I'm sure you'll improve greatly over time :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

I like it! Really fitting for the theme and cute graphics! :)

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Really good work on this one! I think you got the "Connected Worlds" theme down perfectly here. Really good concept. Also I like the players move animation, I think it was done well.

The controls were a bit sensitive but not bad.

Overall, this was a really good entry and the theme was implemented nicely. Good work!

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Really nice flip, I like this. good job. Thanks.

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43pm

The controls are pretty rough, lots of accidental jumps. But the platforming layout with the world-switching mechanics were pretty solid :)

Also, I like mirrored-world games like Ibb-Obb . Nice work :)

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

The artwork is fantastic. You really did a great job with the game. The jumping does feel a bit weird but it is completely manageable. Overall a fantastic job!

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very nice. The controls are reasonably under control, and the art is neat. More variation on the environment would be nice, and the enemies look very simple considering how nice the background is. I get a blue block on the left of the screen when I start, is that intentional?

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I really liked the world flipping, fun idea. :) The controls felt a bit clumsy and sometimes it felt like he jumped many times in a row even if I had released the key so it made the game really hard. Some tweaking of the controls might do a lot for the game as you have a good basic idea. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

pretty nice game. I like the ascetics a lot. especially the trees and roots.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting concept, found the controls a little hard to use tough.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

I found charming how the tree are connected the two world together.
I catch all the star but nothing seemed to happened. Maybe I had to go to the far right ?

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:28am

controls are strange but I like the mirror concept

Dans17 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:16am

I liked the graphics but I wish the enemies had the same graphical detail as the rest of the game. I also found a clone of my self stuck in the ground about half way through the map?

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I fixed the aforementioned bugs and now it should play a bit better! :)

@GeorgeBroussard: Thanks George! I'm definitely going to keep working on it, I have some fun ideas for it going forward that I want to explore. :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Solid entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]