Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fire & Ice

by NnelGdaBandit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First ludum dare entry, it was a blast! In this tower defense you are trying to defend two Connected Worlds from being overrun by elemental bugs.

Where you build the tower controls what type of towers you have access to, but never fret because you can warp them over to the other world (symmetrical side) in an instant. The bugs are weak against the opposite element, so warping towers at the right time can be the key to success.


Tips:
Place starting towers on both sides before hitting the start button.

Orange bugs are week against blue towers and blue bugs are weak against orange towers. This also applies to your bases! (aka orange bugs hurt your blue base more and blue bugs hurt your orange base more) .

Swapping towers at the right time can be the key to success.


To place a tower:
click a empty space, click one of the 3 with tower icons on the selector, hit the green check mark to confirm.


Known Issues (sorry):
Hitting start on main menu sometimes takes more than 1 click. I think it's a loading thing? If this happens sometimes refreshing the game seems to fix it.

When selecting towers you have to close the selector to open it again.

Apparently there is a input issue when running the web player on mac :(

Made With:
Unity, NGUI Extension, and Paint.net.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#336Audio3.09
#377Theme3.48
#418Overall3.34
#456Fun3.15
#575Innovation3.13
#653Graphics2.96
#694Humor2.13
#700Mood2.82

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16am

Here is an android version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14880911/Fire%20%26%20Ice.apk

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great concept and use of theme! :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39am

I really like this! The graphics (specifically the tiles) put me off at first glance, but I took a chance on it and was not disappointed. I really liked having to micromanage turret placement to deal with the oncoming threats, though I'm not sure how the game handles which turret is placed where when I click on an unoccupied tile. Other than that though, awesome game!

Sestren says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

I wish there were more stages to play through, but nice job!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

I couldn't seem to figure out how to place turrets. The art looks nice though.

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

I'm not usually a fan of tower defense games, but this was pretty good. It defeats the usual issue I have with TDs in that it isn't just "set up and let it run" as you have to constantly switch the towers there and back.

I'd really like to see this fleshed out to a whole game.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Cool twist on the Tower defense genre - when it starts to pick up, its really cool to be forced to juggle between the two tower positions.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

Really impressed with what you were able to do in 2 days, I would definitely continue to work on this game! Being able to swap the towers between the two lanes was a great mechanic.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37am

I could not play, I click the play button and nothing happens :(

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

I think it was a good idea to mix to different environments in a TD game. Unfortunately, TD in general, are very difficult to polish the mechanics.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

Thanks for all the feedback guys! I hope I get a chance to flesh this out more.

Sorry gillenew, if you have trouble hitting the play button just try refreshing the game, that seems to work. I just added that trick to my description.

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Good job on the game. Is it just me or is it too hard? Couldn't get past the first level after two tries.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Thanks for playing! It might be a little tough, but they are beatable. I put in some tips in the description if anyone needs help.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

It was nice to have something to do in a TD game other than sit there and watch the creeps go by! Good use of the theme.

Also, nice job with the music :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

I had a lot of fun with this. The art is simple but eye-catching, and the mix of different damage types and the ability to switch turret around gives it some depth.

I had a little bit of trouble working up which turrets I was switching in - some indicator on the tile to which turret is on its opposite number would help with that though. Overall pretty good.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Did not start on klick on start Button.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34am

Good shit my friend. Good shit indeed.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37am

What an awesome twist to an already classic game genre. Well done!

FGM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

Pretty cool. Swapping towers made for some different gameplay.

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

I like it. Great work for the amount of time.

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33am

Really solid game. Only thing is I sort of wish there was a bigger map.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I'm not going to vote because I can't get it to run. I clicked everywhere on the screen and no turret menu appeared. All I can do is press start and then I die cos there are no turrets. Concept sounds like fun though.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hi there. Love your tower defence game. Manic sound, slow moving but pretty tough to swap orange and blue back and forth. Great job!

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Great twist on the tower defense genre! Very hectic gameplay, I couldn't keep up on level 4.

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27am

Cool, haven't seen a mechanic like this in a tower defense game before. It adds a neat layer of strategy and there's plenty of potential to use the switching to make things more interesting :)

paps says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12am

Very nice use of the theme.
Good game, I suck at it though.
note: for the issue about the click on start button, it may be related to the bug the webplayer, to "fix it" just switch to another tab, and come back

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28am

Thanks again everyone for playing and leaving feedback, I'm glad you guys are enjoying it! It's giving me a lot of hope about fleshing this out!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:13pm

That got hard very quickly! I love how the two maps share towers!

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:01am

Tight! The game as made is super hardcore, but there's a ton of potential. Great work!

paps says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:38am

Nice TD you got here. I like the difficulty of planning the tower placement

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:44am

Nice mix of tower defense with the theme. Great job.

Shivur says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:32am

Good gameplay idea!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:02am

Good use of the theme. Switching towers between worlds adds a different dimension to my usual TD strategy. Great job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:49am

Nice gameplay; becoming insane at 4th lvl.

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Great entry for such a short time! Liked the concept of swapping, which felt intuitive for me. I felt the low-range tower was useless though. Great music track!

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Thanks for playing everyone! Top 500 isn't too shabby!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]