Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universal Gravitation

by tmpxyz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE 2014/09/15:

Update the Post-Compo version v0.1, I have added several new levels, and a Big Boss. And by industry traditions, you will have a cake! =)

====================================================
This game is a 3D physics action puzzler created with Unity, you could alter gravity on you by connecting to various devices.

Control:
Movement: WSAD;
Jump: Space
Sprint: L-Shift
Link: Left-MouseButton; ( after linking, use W/S to trigger possible effects )
UnLink: Right-MouseButton
ResetLevel: `(backquote)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#247Humor2.90
#320Mood3.27
#376Fun3.25
#464Innovation3.28
#471Overall3.29
#681Audio2.47
#757Graphics2.79
#948Theme2.60

Comments

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25am

Cool mechanics, last level broken?

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37am

Last level? nope, it's not broken, webplayer cannot shutdown your page, so I can only tell you congratulations, the game is finished :)

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

The blue sphere is annoying to use, because you tend to just slam into it instead of doing anything fun. I really like the orangeish ones that you swing from though those are a lot of fun.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

@shico, try adjusting your camera before pressing RMB

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

@shico, thanks, I hope I had more time to make a few more levels :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Interesting physics which seems to me sometime bugged. It can be improved, but I like. Bravo ++

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Cool grappling mechanic - I especially enjoyed the swinging.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Lots of fun! Great job!

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

I really like the idea of this - and getting a puzzle right has a delicious satisfaction to it. I'm not certain of the physics/how the grappling is interacting right now, but an excellent LD48 entry!

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25am

May great job playing with a portal style game, but keeping it fresh. I was able to break the game in the level just after the tutorials were complete. I fell off the first swing, but reconnected myself as I fell. I was far enough down to hit the kill volume while still being connected to the swing orb. When I respawned there were no lights just black and the orange skybox. I also could fly where ever I wanted and died after a few seconds of flying. Other than that issue well done!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31am

Hi, @IgIzzy, thanks for the report, I thought I disconnect any links when player hits the death volume, will double-check it again :)

Gunn3rboi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38am

great game reminds me of portal which i loved and the humor in this is great but i did come across one bug at the blue ball point when i flung up in the air i missed the other side and fell to what i though was my death but it wasn't instead i just kept falling till i closed the browser, other than that it was great.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40am

Interesting.
I agree with the others, the swings were the most fun things to use.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

@Gunn3rboi, yeah, i think I should wrap the area more closely, it seems that you guys can fly farther than I imagined :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

Nic econcept but the sounds are killing me :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56am

This game is winner in sound category, but overall this is quite nice puzzler. Room design reminds me of my LudumDare 29 game.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

@Techblogogy, black/white, rect/circle, cube/sphere, basic blocks for all programmers' art. Adding some normal map will make them more lively :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Nice concept. Audio is little bit rough though.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08pm

where is the cake? Wow this is really a good game. Nice riddles, nice mechanics... cool setting :D Zagged it with... favorite!

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10am

That was really good. I died in 1 room and when I re-spawned the light didn't turn back on. Its was just black.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

@Follett, which level? and you could try ResetLevel (backquote key)

Hairein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Great use of physics and easy to grasp gameplay. Nice!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Audio is a little bit glitchy/noisy and the rope doesn't always worked (W/S effect) but hey, I played my Spiderman style and it was fun! :D

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33am

Very slow to pick up. It would have been nice if you had more time for the real levels. The 2nd from the last was a lot of fun figuring out how to use a bunch of different spheres to get across. In a full length game, the intro levels would be a perfect amount.

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:38am

3D yeeahh!!!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:41am

Very interesting game concept and great graphics, it reminded me of Portal

suurin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

Funny game mechanics, i was mad at last level but COMPLETED IT :D

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:55am

Fun game, interesting mechanics, but the fall detection is not ideal - one level didn't have it, one had it too close.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I have just played again and jumped off many place to try locating the "hole" in death triggers, but I cannot find it really. :(

rojo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

The gameplay was pretty fun, but the walking sound was kind of grating after awhile. Also the ambient audio was way quieter than everything else, so some volume balance would be nice.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Thanks for all the advices people.
Now I'm working on a Post-LD version and will post here after 15 days. It will provide much more fun by then.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:51am

Cool game, loved swinging around the orange orbs. :) The gameplay could be a bit more fluid on other departments, like the blue orbs. Feels clunky. But still a fun game :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:18am

Woah.
Great little game.
Physics are always a treat!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Very quirky and fun. The swinging mechanic is very wonky and troublesome to get used to, but once you do get used to it, it's pretty fun.

SK16Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Wow, very cool game :) One of my favourites so far :D The atmosphere was great, the light, the sounds, the mechanics especially! 5 in innovation and mood! and also... SPOILER ALERT: the text in the last level (congratulations/end screen level) says: htmpxyz.wix.com/alpha (a link to your website, right?)

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Impressive for 48 hours. Impressive physics / lighting / humor (not sure how much of that is Unity though). Glad to have sound, even if it was rather sharp. Reminds me of Portal, which is always a plus (and I think was the intent?).

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:07am

Haha, I had tried to be not that "portal" style, but when I came to black/white blocks, it automatically goes that way. Maybe it's because of the programmer's art, maybe it's just portal had given me quite an impression. :)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:31am

Nice portal-like game, especially for only 48 hours. Had a bit of trouble with swinging also but it's really a great start for a more polished post compo version.
Congrats!

sephyka says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting entry. Great mood.
Very difficult to play with my French keyboard. It might be great with also standard arrows control for a better playability.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:17am

Nice puzzle mechanics, but the game felt really slow. Also, I was really disappointed to see that when I landed on the orange floor thing in the switch level, then turned around and walked away from green door and went to the end, nothing really happened except me falling. And it didn't restart or anything, so I had to start over.

Still, managed to complete it, though it took me a few tries to land on the faraway block in the congratulations level. ^^"

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:16am

Interesting mechanic. Needs a lot of finishing, but has great potential.

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:09am

Hi, I've been working on the game this week.
I will try to upload a new polished post-compo version in two days.

And this one will have a cake :)

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Just added the new post-compo version, a lot of new content is added.

New levels, new Big Boss, and a Cake!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]